We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Lion
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
William Caxton(Tenterden)(Great Value!)
US$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The George Hotel(Cranbrook)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel(Headcorn)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Motel & Bar(Rye)(Great Value!)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
209
134
33
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
134
33
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzathe pubfreshly ground coffeecontinental breakfastbiscuitshigh streetlovely decorwhite company toiletrieslittle extraswatch the worldtriple cooked chipslive bandold buildingsunday lunchservice was a little slowlovely mealchapel down vineyard
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Had a 2 night stay at the White Lion. Great location in a typical little village. Has a outdoor area where you can watch the world go by. Pub meals are well priced and very good. The rooms are serviced daily. A bit of a rabbit warren to get to them but clean and comfy with wi fi. Staff were very friendly. Cooked breakfast was great. Don't miss thr 850 year old church over the road.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was the last night of my solo walk from Horsham to Rye on the High Weald Landscape Trail (90+ miles - thoroughly recommended). The trail goes past the door of the hotel. I was made very welcome at reception and very well looked after in the hotel restaurant - despite being a single traveller on a Saturday night. The room was comfortable and clean - a bit hot at first, but the fan in the room dealt with that perfectly. Water flow in the bathroom was poor, so the (new) shower was a bit disappointing (the spring plug in the basin failed to hold water; and the soap/shampoo was in a squeezy container mounted on the wall - no other toiletries provided), but these are all minor niggles. The food in the restaurant was good pub food - nothing pretentious or nouvelle about it! Cooked breakfast was fresh and excellent. Overall this was an excellent stay in a very pleasant location.

Room Tip: My room at the back on the second floor was quiet and free from any kitchen or other odours
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A good hotel with superb staff with the exception of one member who slightly took the edge of our stay,room a good size and very clean but lacking any complimentary bathroom toiletries other than soap which must be due to the current economic situation! The restaurant menu was varied and what we chose was served quickly and was of superb quality and probably local produce,also breakfast menu matched the same level.The bar area is very inviting and served a good selection of ales and lagers.The hotel would recieve a slightly better review if they could just address the few small details which let it down when charging above average prices,but i would rrcommend a stay as the pros far out weigh the cons,and a big thank you to all the other staff and manageress who made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabid61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We used our virgin voucher to have a night away fairly close. We stayed in room 16 which we found to be very pleasent. We received a complementary bottle of wine and due to the hot weather was pleased they had left a fan running. The room was clean and staff were friendly. We stayed on a Friday night and found the pub to become very busy with lots of young locals. It seemed they had a disco that night which we were told is not a regular event, however this was great fun and we enjoyed the fun friendly atmosphere. Would recomend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed overnight at the White Lion for a night out in Tenterden. Did not use the food, but this did look quite good. did have breakfast and this was very good. Stayed in a double room at the top of the Old building. Quite a few creaks and groans from the staircase. The shower was next to useless, and th bed was only a 4' 6", so a little on the small side, as used to a 6' at home. Room was also very warm at night, even with the window open.

Room Tip: The 4 poster room is better.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripMartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews