We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly stunning rooms - what a transformation!!”
Review of White Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Lion
Ranked #1 of 11 Tenterden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at the old White Lion about a year and a half ago with family and was happy with the traditionally styled rooms and good service, but the place was clearly very tired and in need of a real makeover.

After reading in my local paper about a recent refurb, me & my partner thought that we would revisit, to see what had changed.

OH MY! What a transformation! The room was stunning, with beautiful features in the room and the bathroom. I had forgotten my shampoo & luckily there were White Company toiletries that saved me venturing on to the high street. and fluffy bathrobes too!

The staff were lovely, some of the junior staff were still getting used to the changes and were a bit shakey - but the management team were very attentive.

We didn't eat at the restaurant, as we had eaten before we arrived, but the food coming out of the kitchen looked lovely - I can't wait to go back and try a steak, or a pizza from the large pizza oven!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here in August for one night. This is a beautiful traditional pub with spacious rooms. Our bedroom was huge, had exposed beams and faced the beautiful high street (one of the prettiest I've ever seen with its vintage, antiques, old shops). The bed was very comfortable. They have a car park just behind the hotel and if you are an hotel guest you get a tag to leave in the car (so you don't pay for parking).
We had dinner in the restaurant and the steak, this was perfectly cooked, really good red wine and shared a dessert (brownie with warm chocolate sauce...divine!). Sadly breakfast wasn't as good, the scramble eggs had too much butter and were soggy, drawned in milk!.
The church tower was open that day, so we climbed up and enjoyed some good scenery, including a couple of steam trains departing. Had a walk around the High street, which again its beautiful. Went back to the White Lion for some good ale, we sat outside basking in the sunshine listening to the pianist and the singer which had a beautiful voice. Friends and family joined us, so we moved inside and had a great time. This is a great place to stay when exploring Tenterden and surrounding areas, Steam railway, Medieval castles and the stunning Kent countryside. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bubble_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very central location with parking. The hotel was due to close the following day for a major renovation but this hardly seemed necessary as the bedroom was well decorated with a modern bathroom and very clean. The cooked breakfast was well presented with generous portions. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Saturday overnite stay. Arrived lunchtime and room was ready so we were able to drop our belonging s straight away. Good free car parking at rear for guests. Room was very clean and well presented but a little eerrm.... "old English" which had added character.. Very low ceilings and floors that went up and down !!! Just what you would expect from a very old original coaching inn.... Our USA cousins and other travellers from throughout the world would love this place. Good selection of "warm" ales for our Ozzy and Kiwi guests to enjoy.... No I mean it... Really good English ale... Sunday breakfast was served by very charming courteous staff and the full English was very good too. Will come back again.. Thank you

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank BradySilverfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Had a 2 night stay at the White Lion. Great location in a typical little village. Has a outdoor area where you can watch the world go by. Pub meals are well priced and very good. The rooms are serviced daily. A bit of a rabbit warren to get to them but clean and comfy with wi fi. Staff were very friendly. Cooked breakfast was great. Don't miss thr 850 year old church over the road.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was the last night of my solo walk from Horsham to Rye on the High Weald Landscape Trail (90+ miles - thoroughly recommended). The trail goes past the door of the hotel. I was made very welcome at reception and very well looked after in the hotel restaurant - despite being a single traveller on a Saturday night. The room was comfortable and clean - a bit hot at first, but the fan in the room dealt with that perfectly. Water flow in the bathroom was poor, so the (new) shower was a bit disappointing (the spring plug in the basin failed to hold water; and the soap/shampoo was in a squeezy container mounted on the wall - no other toiletries provided), but these are all minor niggles. The food in the restaurant was good pub food - nothing pretentious or nouvelle about it! Cooked breakfast was fresh and excellent. Overall this was an excellent stay in a very pleasant location.

Room Tip: My room at the back on the second floor was quiet and free from any kitchen or other odours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A good hotel with superb staff with the exception of one member who slightly took the edge of our stay,room a good size and very clean but lacking any complimentary bathroom toiletries other than soap which must be due to the current economic situation! The restaurant menu was varied and what we chose was served quickly and was of superb quality and probably local produce,also breakfast menu matched the same level.The bar area is very inviting and served a good selection of ales and lagers.The hotel would recieve a slightly better review if they could just address the few small details which let it down when charging above average prices,but i would rrcommend a stay as the pros far out weigh the cons,and a big thank you to all the other staff and manageress who made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabid61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenterden
1.6 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
1.6 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
0.2 mi away
Little Dane Court
Little Dane Court
#3 of 11 in Tenterden
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion

Address: 57 High Street, Tenterden TN30 6BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tenterden
Price Range: £89 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a stunning recent refurbishment the White Lion Hotel now gracefully combines ‘olde world’ charms with a contemporary look and feel. All of the rooms (including family and superior rooms) have been delightfully re-furbished to provide guests with flat screen TVs displaying over 40 digital channels, hairdryers, tea and coffee making facilities and new luxurious beds and bedding. Guests can also make use of the function and conference facilities, complimentary WiFi and the restaurant, serving quality fresh food sourced from the best suppliers. The pub remains the heart and soul of the White Lion Hotel and food is our specialty. The enhanced environment, combined with a fantastic new fresh food offer, allows guests to enjoy either a meal in our bar, or for more of an occasion dine in our restaurant. Diners and drinkers alike can also enjoy one of our many real ales or wines selected from around the world. The town itself has been described as ‘the Jewel of the Weald’, with wide tree lined streets, historic buildings, inns and a host of specialist shops. Out and about there are picture postcard villages to explore, manor houses and gardens, and of course, Leeds Castle, set in 500 acres of parkland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your White Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lion Tenterden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing