We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Lion
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Dering Arms(Pluckley)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The George Hotel(Cranbrook)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
203
134
31
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
134
31
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzathe pubfreshly ground coffeecontinental breakfastbiscuitshigh streetlovely decorwhite company toiletrieslittle extraswatch the worldtriple cooked chipslive bandold buildingsunday lunchservice was a little slowlovely mealchapel down vineyard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay for a short break. Our room was big with a massive and very comfortable bed. ground coffee and fresh milk were nice touches. The food in the restaurant was very good, as was the service, but be warned, if you have the "full English" breakfast, you won't want to eat for the rest of the day. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in Tenterden.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintbob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLion-Manager, General Manager at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for your kind words about our lovely hotel and the gorgeous town of Tenterden. There is so much to see and do around here, so I look forward to you staying with us again another time.

Kind regards

Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel. Rooms are fabulous with great little touches - fresh milk , ground coffee and massive tv and lovely bed. Loved it

Great bar and food looked amazing, although we went to prezzo across the road

Staff super friendly and good outside area to enjoy a pint

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank keeperbinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLion-Manager, General Manager at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi, thanks for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Maybe next time you can check out our own fabulous wood-fired pizza instead?

Look forward to wowing you next time you visit.

Kind regards

Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This place is truly the heartbeat of Tenterden ...we loved our two night stay here ... Classy rooms , good service and such a vibrant atmosphere in the place day and night...staff were great and hardworking.. Food was good and fair value.... Will definitely return-loved it !

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NickJ5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLion-Manager, General Manager at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi Neil,

We just love it when we get such wonderful feedback so thank you so much on behalf of my team for your lovely review.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Roger Norris
Manager
PS Love your tagline " The Heartbeat of Tenterden" - permission to use it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excellent last minute booking and check out with Beverley. Really enjoyed the friendly and lively ambience of the bar where we enjoyed a pre supper cocktail. Very busy bar and restaurant,which was not surprising, as the food was excellent. Our room was very comfortable with thoughtful complimentary extras. Looking forward to a return visit. Good location in the centre of Tenderden.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLion-Manager, General Manager at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review - I shall make sure I buy Beverley a drink to thank her for her excellent hospitality!
See you again soon.

Kind regards

Roger Norris
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Have just returned from a fantastic stay at this historic hotel. Our bedroom was wonderfully shabby chic and spotless, and we loved the individual little touches everywhere, as well as the mix of the wonderful Farrow & Ball paint colours in our room and the general decor throughout the hotel. The staff were very friendly and courteous, and dinner and breakfast really tasty, with quick and attentive service.

The only two small quibbles were the pine shelf immediately above the sink in the bathroom, making it impossible to brush teeth/splash face without knocking your head or covering the floor with water. Also, the regular slamming of an internal door (used by waiting staff going to and fro from the kitchen perhaps?) echoed in our bedroom (which was at the back of the hotel) until fairly late into the evening, starting up again around 7am.

The hotel is very centrally located in the High Street and ideal for all the local shops, and Tenterden itself is very unspoilt and beautifully clean.

It was our first visit to The White Lion and we can't recommend it highly enough. We will definitely stay there again when visiting the area. It was so refreshing that the hotel has retained a sense of its historical past with the decor, which was so in keeping with its age but with lots of little modern touches and individuality, and which had refrained from adopting the dreaded corporate look in its bedrooms!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spratwaffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLion-Manager, General Manager at White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi

Just wanted to say thank you to you on behalf of my team for your quite lovely review of your stay with us - so pleased you enjoyed youreself.

Also, thanks for flagging up the two points of detail, especially with the door issue - it is the side door to the hotel that is making the noise. Unfortunately it is a fire exit so I can't put a door closer on it to help muffle the sound but we will make sure we brief the staff accordingly to take extra care when entering or exiting late at night or first thing in the morning. Thanks for helping us to be even better!

Kind regards

Roger Norris
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews