We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TWO NIGHTS AT THE WOOLPACK”
Review of The Woolpack Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenterden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Woolpack Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Tenterden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Large comfortable room but Room 1 IS noisy. It would have been useful to know this before we arrived and even better before we booked. Can't fault the charming staff or the very good and plentiful food. Comfortable bed and the large room could benefit from a small table for those of us having to use a laptop. Odd though that our room was not made up and cleaned after our first night. Perhaps an oversight or a policy?

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and/or what music is planned during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed the one night at The Woolpack in Room 3 which was nicely decorated, very spacious and the bed was so comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome from start to finish, the pub has a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. We had dinner from the bar menu and it was delicious - we recommend the Sausages and Mash. After a great nights sleep we had a tasty breakfast cooked as we requested - it couldn't have been any nicer. Thank you and we are looking forward to returning to try out the a la carte menu in the restaurant! Nigel & Julie

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a nice pub lunch at the Woolpack. Food was very nice! Well presented, hot, tasty! Service very good! Waitress was attentive but allowed us time to eat our meal. Nice atmosphere, relaxed and the place is clean. Good value for money! A main meal and a drink £20.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Butterfly7659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed with my father while working in Tenterden and found it very nice, food was nice, we were warned on booking that it was open mic night, but they put us in room 5 and it was very quiet. Tea and coffee in rooms was nice, and breakfast was nice. Only issue was shower was very powerfull and i soaked the bathroom before having a bath instead. Very nice and bespoke rooms, change from a travelodge. I only realised in the morning that it backed onto a church yard!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at The Woolpack for just one night in room 6. True - it wasn´t perfect - the heating in the room didn´t work very well, the radiator was noisy and the bathroom was chilly. However the room was very clean, there was bottled water supplied alongside the coffee etc (+ decent biscuits!!) and the bed was extremely comfortable. A previous reviever commented on the thin curtains but there were also blinds!
The breakfast was outstanding. My husband is a breakfast connoisseur and rates it as the best he has ever had - local produce, well executed.
There was music on in the bar - we had been warned at the time of booking and this wasn´t a problem for us.
Nice atmosphere and friendly young staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed here last night with my parents and young daughter.
The rooms are beautiful to look at, but that is where the comfort ends.
Room 1, directly above the bar. Noisy does not begin to describe it. It took until 1 a.m for there to be silence.
Room 6 on the other side also noisy and both rooms had curtains as thin as paper, so all street lights felt like they were in the room with us.
Room 6 also had the added danger (!) of a bathroom with a floor at 45 degrees. Not good for my elderly parents.
The rooms are not cheap, or even reasonable at £95 each.
I would absolutely not recommend, and would not return.

Room Tip: Do not take room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

we stayed for a week. the staff were extremely kind and helpful. the food was typical pub food and ok. but the room was not good. first we had no shower just a bath with a jug! (we were not told this when we booked.) i had to ask for clean towels on three occasions. on the day we left the hotel was full, but they ran out of brown bread, marmalade and cereals! plus there was only one girl working the breakfast 'rush" and she got very confused with the orders.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with a shower (if that is what you prefer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenterden
1.5 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
8.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
White Lion
White Lion
#1 of 11 in Tenterden
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Dane Court
Little Dane Court
#3 of 11 in Tenterden
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
William Caxton
William Caxton
#5 of 11 in Tenterden
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolpack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolpack Hotel

Address: 26 High Street, Tenterden TN30 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tenterden
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Woolpack Hotel Tenterden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing