We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”
Review of Chancery House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenterden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chancery House
Ranked #8 of 11 Tenterden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our four night stay at Chancery House last week. It was extremely comfortable, and Carmen made us feel very welcome. It is a lovely period property, beautifully restored, and very convenient to the town center. The whole house felt both homely and welcoming and we had a super room. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home and garden.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipHarbord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed there weekend on 14th June. This is a beautifully restored Georgian house right in Tenderton, Kent. The room was beautifully presented in period style yet extremely comfortable with en suite and very comfortable bed. The house has an attractive garden to enjoy. Carmen is a perfect host, excellent individually cooked breakfast to order in the main house dining room. Only two B and B rooms so very exclusive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Have just returned from a 3 night stay here, it was lovely. The house is at the end of the High Street so an easy walk to the shops and town with its varied eating places. We had a room at the front, large with a super comfortable bed with two large chairs to allow you to sit in comfort to watch tv. The room may be noisy at times, for those who like quite, as it is on a traffic light stop on the A28, but the back room, still lovely, would be better for those not used to traffic, it didn't bother us.

The house has been renovated to an extreemly high standard with Carmen s eye for style evident everywhere.

Breakfast was cooked by Carmen giving a very hearty start to the day.

It is an ideal base for visiting the surrounding Countryside, the only thing we felt was missing was a hairdryer, very surprising as there was everything else you could possibly need. We told Carmen and she is going to get one so don't think this negative apply again, she offered us her one so it didn't matter.

Will be back again, loved it and her.

Room Tip: back room if you prefer a bath, its huge, and overlooks the garden or front if you like a shower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tannerwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have just had an amazing weekend break in Kent to celebrate my parents Diamond Wedding Anniversary, and stayed in Chancery House in Tenterden.
Chancery House is over 200 years old, and is the home of Carmen, who turned out to be the most amazing host, greeting us with the warmest of welcomes into her idyllic home.
The bedrooms are magnificent, and very tastefully decorated which reflect Carmen's high standards.
A relaxing freshly cooked full English breakfast was served in the beautiful dining room overlooking the garden.
This was a weekend my parents (who are in their 80's) will long remember, of which a large part was attributed to our stay at Chancery House.
Many thanks Carmen, hope to visit you again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We spent 3 nights here in February 2014 to explore the surrounding areas. Carmen was a great hostess and the room we had in the front of the house was very comfortable. The addition of two chairs was great so we didn't have to sit on the bed to read or watch TV. Chancery House is within easy walking distance of the local pubs and restaurants, great for going out in the evening. We didn't sample the garden as it rained for the whole of our stay!

The georgian house is very tastefully decorated and a beautiful place to stay. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: The room at the front has an en-suite shower and is larger. The room at the rear has a separate bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have just spent five days in this beautiful B & B. The house has been lovingly restored and is very comfortable. Our room was at the front of the house and was spacious with a huge bed and nice furniture. It was particularly nice to have chairs to sit in and not to have to sit on the bed. The en-suite shower room was spotlessly clean and had luxurious, thick towels.

Carmen is a lovely lady and we enjoyed chatting to her. She made us very welcome, nothing was too much trouble and we were able to come and go as we pleased. She was happy to recommend places to visit and was interested to hear about our sight-seeing trips.

She has been very busy creating and planting her garden, which we were welcome to wander in. Perhaps, next time, we will take our swimsuits and have a dip in the pool!

It was our first visit to Kent and we hope that we will be able to go again as there is lots of exploring still to do. We look forward to staying at Chancery House again and sincerely recommend it to anyone who appreciates a warm welcome and lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely. We chose the one at the front simply because we prefer a shower to a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed the night with friends after the Pullman Dining experience on the nearby Kent and Sussex Railway. We took the room at the front. It has secondary glazing which kills any traffic noise. The room and the bed were huge. It was so comfortable. The house is magnificent with some wonderful architectural features. Carmen is a great hostess - we enjoyed the breakfast in the elegant breakfast room. Private parking. There were just no negatives. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 2 rooms. Large room at the front with shower. Slightly smaller room at the rear but with massive bat...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenterden hotels
1.7 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Lion
White Lion
#1 of 11 in Tenterden
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Little Dane Court
Little Dane Court
#3 of 11 in Tenterden
117 reviews
2 mi away
The White Cottage Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
William Caxton
William Caxton
#5 of 11 in Tenterden
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chancery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chancery House

Address: 9 West Cross, Tenterden TN30 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tenterden
Price Range: £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian House in the High Street of Georgian town of Tenterden. Two elegant double bedrooms, one with en-suite shower, the other with a fantastic bathroom - the bath is in the middle of the room and has a period fireplace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chancery House Tenterden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing