We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Beach Country Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tenterden
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This was one of the best places I have ever stayed. The people were very helpfull, Hotel was in a great place with lovely views over the golf course. Great value for money. Would have been great to try the spa but weather was so good to be out and about.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waldren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    166
    53
    37
    20
See reviews for
67
201
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed here for Business. Arrived late and only stayed one night so didn't bother booking Spa, but will have to travel back again next month and will try and sneak away earlier to take advantage next time !

Room was very spacious and clean with nice complimentary spa toiletries (which actually smell great too). Lovely views and in the summer I imagine the balconies are a great place to unwind with a glass of wine (or cuppa) and watch the sunset.

There was a fair selection for breakfast and the hot choice was cooked wonderfully with plenty of tea/coffee refills upon request.

The staff were polite and helpful and as I said earlier I shall definately stay again when I have to return to this part of the country.

My only request to the hotel would be for better signage from the road when coming from the north approach towards Tenderden - because the hotel is set back I could only see a sign for the Little Silver Hotel and so missed the entrance to the London Beach at first.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teabelly1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

From the moment me and my 2 daughters arrived for our overnight spa break we felt very welcome, relaxed and spoilt. all the staff throughout the hotel were extremely polite, friendly and helpful. Our family room was large, clean, and comfortable and had a fantastic view. The food was superb. all the treatments we had were professionally carried out, the staff were very helpful with my pregnant daughter. We had a wonderful break and left feelin relaxed and pampered. we will definately be recommending you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed for one night at the London Beach Hotel for a nearby wedding. The furniture, atmosphere and smell was reminiscent of an old people's home. The staff were hit and miss (mainly miss) and had an attitude of 'can't be bothered'. The night porter complained about how tired he was and was loathe to wait up for the remaining guests! The rooms were large and clean, but the style of furnishings are very dated.
Breakfast was very disappointing and luke warm. They held breakfast in what looked like a conference room, and the table were small trestle tables. Very un-restaurant-like. No idea why they aren't using the much more pleasant-looking setting of the dining area near the entrance/bar.
I'm very surprised by the mainly positive reviews on here. We certainly wouldn't stay here again.
Also, our friend who was staying with her son (11 yrs old) said she was made to feel very unwelcome, as if having a child in the hotel was a nuisance. and you can't use the pool unless you're over 21!

Room Tip: Stay in a local B&B instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England , UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We enjoyed the expansive room and balcony with the most awesome view of the Kent Weald. The hotel was quiet, it was midweek, and the staff were efficient. Bar food was good value, and portions generous to say the least. Not sure how use of the Spa swimming pool alone justifies an additional cost of £25 per person - we like swimming, but not that much! Being keen newcomers to the game of golf, we found the pitch and putt course a real attraction, and good value. The championship18 hole hole golf course provides a splendid backdrop for any meal or drink inside or out. We would certainly return, and recommend this hotel, being ideally situated for trips into the heart of Tenterden, and of course beyond.

Room Tip: No need, all rooms are expansive and have balconies facing the beautiful Kent countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickdvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEIGH ON SEA, ESSEX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stumbled by this hotel by chance when researching Tenterden on the internet. Surprised by the price as it was not much more than B&Bs in the area, we took a chance and found the hotel to be comfortable, with a room overlooking the golf course. The bar meal we had in the evening was good value, with the steak one of the best we had ever had! We will certainly be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and it certainly was that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAHLeighOnSea_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Me, my friend and our mum's have just come back from a two night spa break at the London Beach. Overall, we were very impressed - the spa was absolutely faultless, both the facilities and the treatments themselves. The rooms were lovely and spacious with a fantastic view over the golf course and grounds. We found the majority of the staff to be courteous and helpful, and the food was very impressive (although in some cases, the portions were just a little too big!).

However, this hotel does have some flaws which let it down slightly. The decor was reminiscent of an old people's home, as was the atmosphere. At times during the evening, it was stilted and stuffy, everybody spoke in a whisper, so us 4 women away to enjoy a girly stay somewhere attracted some disapproving looks from the other guests! The furniture and general decoration are somewhat dated, a bit of paint would make the world of difference. Breakfast is an interesting experience; the first morning we were there, it was fine, we helped ourselves to fruit, cereal, toast, etc, and then a very nice full english was served to us. However, on the second morning, we were told that it was all going to be a buffet, but the hot food (which was laid out in a buffet style, on a buffet table) would still be served to us, but we would have to queue up for it. This lead to great confusion, everybody getting in each others way, and a breakfast that was just not as nice because it had been sat there while we were queuing for it! A very strange, nonsensical way of doing things.

We ventured into nearby Tenterden for lunch when we got to the hotel. We decided to walk, having been in the car for the journey there. We asked at reception to find out how long it would take. Advice for people - don't ask the reception staff anything if you want an honest answer! We were told the walk would take 20 minutes, if that. We started walking, and after the best part of an hour along a very narrow and somewhat dangerous pavement, we finally reached the town! We had a nice lunch in a hotel called The White Lion, and then got a taxi back to the hotel. We were told by the taxi driver that the walk was almost a mile and a half, and could no way be done in 20 minutes or less!

One more little bit of advice: if you are planning to stay out and later than 11:30, make sure you have the hotel's phone number with you. We returned from the town on our last night at about 11pm, and were sat in the bar having a drink when the front door bell rang. This was just ignored, despite there being three members of hotel staff milling about. A minute later, the phone rang, it was answered after a considerable number of rings. It was the people who had been standing outside, in the pitch black, ringing the doorbell. Needless to say, someone did eventually manage to go and let them in!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandrh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenterden
0.0 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
11.0 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
9.0 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Beach Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Beach Country Hotel & Spa

Property: London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Ashford Road, Tenterden TN30 6HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tenterden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tenterden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — London Beach Country Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Beach Country Hotel has a magnificent adults only Spa with expert beauticians to pamper you and all the latest treatments available. It also has a beautiful parkland golf course. There is a health club at London Beach but the gym and fitness area are for members only. The hotel offers affordable luxury. It is situated just two minutes from the historic market town of Tenterden , fifteen minutes from Rye and twenty minutes from Ashford International Station, within easy reach of the M 20 motorway and the channel ports.As Tenterden's premier hotel it offers outstanding facilities including spacious bedrooms with private balconies and free high speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel and in the bedrooms. The hotel's restaurants offer a wide choice of menus catered by our award-winning chefs. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure our friendly staff will meet your every need.For the perfect Break with your partner or friends. No decisions needed the choice is so wide. Combine a Golf Break with a Spa Break or one of the many options available from horse riding to flying breaks. Please note: The Luxury Spa with its saline hydrotherapy & swimming pools is available for £25 pp surcharge on non Spa packages, there is no separate hotel pool for hotel guests, but guests are welcome to pay this surcharge and turn their stay into a spa break. Spa Facilities are for adults only with a 21+ requirement, children are not allowed in the Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your London Beach Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Beach Country Hotel Tenterden
London Beach Country Hotel And Spa
Best Western Tenterden
Tenterden Best Western
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa Tenterden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing