We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth A Visit”
Review of The Greyhound

The Greyhound
Ranked #27 of 102 Restaurants in Tonbridge
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely country pub just outside Sevenoaks. Tony's Southern Fried Chicken cooked to perfection. Other half had the tuna which was also excellent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisB17_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went with friends - we had a walk first around the public footpath around the back of the pub, all very rural and scenic. Blackboard with 'Specials' chalked up in the bar, plus a regular printed menu. Pub wasn't very busy considering it was the end of the half term holidays with plenty of people about. We waited quite some time for the food but it was nicely presented when it arrived with plenty of fresh vegetables. My husband thought his home made burger was undercooked but it was very tasty. Two of us had Venison which was slightly tough, another had pasta which she declared excellent. We sat in the garden area which was very pleasant to the side of the pub. Friendly service. Dogs accepted and there was a large bowl of fresh water for them in front of the entrance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great family-run pub. Simple but effective.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A traditional pub that looks to have been refurbed in the last couple of years. Bar area and garden for drinks-only or informal eating. The menu comprises traditional pub-style good (scampi & chips a favourite with the kids!) as well as a variety of specials. (Hake with crayfish tails in lemon and thyme sauce). Generous portions. Dogs allowed. A welcome change from the close by Little Brown Jug. We'd passed by on the main road many times but never taken the detour to Charcott. A great, family run pub. Worth trying.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg_7Oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cracking food great beer”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I loved my home-made burger while the Mrs raved about the fish and chips, "Good Honest Grub" as long as you dont mind waiting for the food, which I dont if its good and it was. Abbey the bar maid was lovely and a credit to the pub and Tony the Chef/Owner wasn't bad too.
I highly recommend this quiet hidden gem.
Ignore other comments about fish and chips it was the best batter going and a huge portion of fish

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank needabreak007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My partner ordered fish and chips, the fish looked like the frozen battered cod you get from a supermarket. I ordered the lamb and it was very tough and tasteless. I would never eat there again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing