We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed in better best western hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tonbridge
Boston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have stayed in better best western hotels”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We got to Tonbridge found the hotel its on the main road heading through Tonbridge but there was nothing telling us how to get to hotel carpark.(my husband drove round the back streets and came across a sign telling us where it was).We got booked in OK and was told where our room was (no 11) the floorboards were very creaky and very uneven.The room was very nice and the bathroom very clean. It was a hot day so the windows were open . We got our few things unpacked and decided to go for a walk,so we tried to shut the window and the latch was broken luckily it was a warm day I wouldn't like to be in there in the winter !!!!! We then discovered that the extractor fan does not work in the bathroom and that if you didn't keep a hold of the bathroom door it banged on the wall all it needs is a doorstop !!!! When we got back we reopened the window well pushed it and all we could hear was the drone of a fan this went on until about 11pm which as you can imagine was very annoying you dont expect to have to put up with that!!! We decided to have an evening meal at the hotel which we both thouroughly enjoyed .We had read the reviews and decided to walk down the road in the morning for our breakfast which we did and it only cost a fraction of the cost it would have cost at the hotel,this is the first Best western we have stayed at that hasn't had a buffet breakfast . I dont think that we would stay here again but it was OK for an overnight stay on our way down south.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, Owner at Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
JackieM: Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had problems finding the car park we are more than happy to give directions over the telephone or send you a map. Thank you for the compliments about the cleanliness, the floor boards within the hotel are listed as it is such an old building. I am glad you enjoyed dinner, I have passed your comments to the Head Chef. I am sorry you did not stay for breakfast with us, we like to cook all of our breakfasts to order this ensures they are fresh. I hope you will return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    142
    108
    64
    39
See reviews for
55
141
33
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I've been staying at the Rose and Crown hotel and I must say that Lisa on reception has gone above and beyond to help me on numerous occasions. The food is fantastic, not the longest menu, but still fantastic food. A good choice of beers are also available. This hotel is on the high street, ideal for exploring. On the night time the town is quite, so don't worry should you get a street view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, Owner at Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Brownbox: Thank you for your review and kind words about Lisa, our food & accommodation. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This splendid old building used to house a quality hotel but Best Western seem not to care about the poor standard of their rooms in the annexe, nor security, nor the ramshackle areas around the car park and 'garden'.
Our room looked out over an overgrown yard with various building equipment. the hot water tap was just hanging on to the sink. An old sock had taken up residence under bed along with sweet wrapper.
However our evening meal was good and served well but marred by an aggressive Nightporter who demanded that we sign a grubby piece of paper in front of other guests/bar users this despite the fact that the hotel ,from the outset,run my card through their system
before we could leave for our room.
Would we stay there again - Absolutely No . Wake up Best Western this once gem hotel is being run into the ground on your watch.

Room Tip: Avoid to miss disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cove2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, Owner at Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Cove2013: Thank you for your review, your comments have been noted and action taken to remedy the faults. I hope you will return at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tonbridge hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were a group of 20 from all over the country there for a special weekend. Our celebration meal on Saturday, held at the hotel, was delicious, the bar stayed open for us on both Friday and Saturday evenings, and the hotel recommended taxis to take us all to Tunbridge Wells on Friday evening; all in all it was a really good weekend, helped so much by the helpful attitude of all the staff, from reception to the kitchen. Who needs to go to London for service and good value???

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, Owner at Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
MargaretC: Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having your group stay with us, thank you for your comments and we hope you will all return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

stayed for one night in a superior double room.it was very large spacious and clean.the hotel itself is quite with a lovely area outside.very comfortable bed that was huge.the staff are very helpful and pleasant.would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziesue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, Owner at Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Suziesue55: Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A comfortable, quiet room in a hotel on the Hight Street in Tonbridge. Coffee and tea making facilities, late bar for residents and helpful staff. A nice old hotel. Our accommodation was basic but very good value

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank MelanieNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, Owner at Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
MelanieNorton: Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonbridge
4.3 mi away
Hadlow Manor Hotel
Hadlow Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hadlow
255 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
3.9 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
652 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge

Property: Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge
Address: 125 High Street, Tonbridge TN9 1DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Tonbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tonbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Rose and Crown in Tonbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tonbridge
Best Western Rose And Crown In Tonbridge Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing