We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samphire

Samphire
Ranked #2 of 122 Restaurants in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Whilst staying at Whitstable for a weekend, Sunday morning required a full English breakfast.
Looked at a few places but decided on Samphire even though it appeared a little expensive. Well worth it, it was very nice, filling and not greasy like you may find in some places.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davethetraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    311
    92
    44
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Samphire is excellent value for money. The food was outstanding. Staff were a great combination of professional and friendly. We will definitely be returning. Lovely atmosphere. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived as walk ins on Sunday lunch time and were lucky to get a table. Service was as good if not better than normal. Team is professional and informed and they have a sense of humour. A delay to our meal came with a full explanation and a complimentary glass of wine. Good lord! Customer service!
The pork belly was one of the best I have had and worth the wait.
We have tried the rivals but keep coming back. Professional, excellent service, good quality food in a relaxed setting.

Helpful?
Thank Spanishsuperfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Another Restaurant With Poorly Trained Waiting Staff!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Arriving on time for our booking and having been made aware that there was a strict time slot for our meal, we expected ( but never received) speedy service. We were served drinks fairly swiftly and then everything stopped. No menus, no waitress,nothing.We sat and waited hoping that one of the two girls working would decide to take our order, by this time we had noticed that the menu scribbled on a blackboard outside was just visible from my partners seat and she was able to read the days choices. Many people arrived, some were turned away and the staff seemed more intent on seating new arrivals rather than serving the people already there. After a full 35 minutes we decided to leave. I asked the 'manageress' if they were short staffed, she replied no the two were the normal levels for Saturday nights. The owner 'George' apparently was not going to be in till the following week, it would be a good idea for him to start training his waiting staff & pay more attention to detail. Many restaurants in Whitstable rely on the many tourists visiting and frankly have so much potential business they let standards slip by employing and failing to train waiting staff.We walked out as the time left to order and consume our meal before having to vacate the table could have caused severe indigestion.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An original, quirky find in fashionable Whitstable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Discovered this place by chance on a red hot day in August whilst looking for somewhere pleasant for lunch while visiting Whitstable for the day from our holiday cottage ner Ashford. Interesting and original food, great music and friendly, knowledgeable staff. The restaurant has a charming, rustic ambience but the food is imaginative, original and well presented. Not cheap, but we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samphire also viewed

 
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to Samphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing