We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”
Review of Samphire

Samphire
Ranked #8 of 145 Restaurants in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

Hi quality food nicely presented. Great service. We booked late so were squeezed on a small table directly looking into the street. Literally in the shop window. The portions were a little small but nicely presented and interesting/varied menu.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Martybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

First class breakfast high quality ingredients and well presented and reasonable quantities but not cheap

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 369keithw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

We visited whilst celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary in the wonderful sea-side town of Whitstable. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Couldn't have been better.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MikeC742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Went here on a busy Saturday evening. The place is really friendly feeling and the staff were very welcoming. The menu although not extensive does everything really well. I had the Huss which was really fab. My only slight criticism is that it was a rather cold night and we were near the door so we kept getting a breeze.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gilly258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Friendly welcome and unlike a lot of restaurants in Whitstable the menu was a good mix of fish and meat.
For starters we had muscles and pig cheeks which were decent proportions and tasty. Main courses were lamb and a fish dish of huss (dogfish). The lamb was tender and the crushed potatoes and cabbage were full of flavour. I found the sauce with the fish a bit too hot and over powered the fish.
We shared a sticky toffee pudding which was the best i have had for a long time and wish we had gone for one each.
The waitress was very helpful in recommending places to go near Whistable and told us about a nearby restaurant that has just been given a Michelin star which we went to and had a great experience.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 24colin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samphire also viewed

 
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to Samphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing