We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and friendly”
Review of Copeland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copeland House
Ranked #10 of 12 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Dover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I was in two minds about staying as some reviews were a bit negative - but we decided to go for it and having stayed here last weekend have to say thats its great! - the room and bathroom were very clean and well equipped and good value for the price. Georgina the lady lady was helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was spot on, breakfast room had a relaxed and friendly atmosphere - Avril the cook was very entertaining. They also allow dogs and although we didn't bring ours it was lovely to give other dogs a fuss! All in all a really good experience, we will be back for a short break I think!!! :-)

Room Tip: Our room had a bathroom next to it but it didn't bother us as its still private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    25
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Just come back from a great night's stay at Copeland House on Island Wall in Whitstable. Fantastic location, just a few minutes walk from the high street with it's lovely pubs, shops and restaurants. We stayed in room 3 which was smaller than some of the other rooms but as it has an ensuite bathroom it was good for us, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was good and the only downsides of the property are the lack of parking locally (we were fine as it wasn't high season but I think it could be an issue in high summer), and the noise from other residents (however this is only to be expected in an old house like this).

Room Tip: Room 3 is ensuite, the other rooms are larger with private bathrooms but not ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petrat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The care and attention show from the owner to guests cannot be faulted.
Unfortunately rooms, although comfortable, show wear and tear.
Although advertised as en-suite, some rooms have separate bathroom/WCs.
The main down side of Copeland is that it appears many of the rooms have little to no noise insulation, which leads to a disturbed sleep as you are often kept awake by other guests movements.
Various breakfasts are offered which are of a good standard using local high quality produce.

Room Tip: Ask for "en-suite" room only - many have separate bath/WCs although not used by other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at Copeland House in mid-January when it appeared to be full. It has a good location in the centre of Whitstable and there appear to be few other places to stay that are so central.

The room we stayed in was ok but we can identify with other reviewers' comments about intrusive noise; there is a noticeable lack of sound insulation and it was easy to hear other occupants coming and going. Our designated "ensuite" bathroom was more like a "dedicated just outside the bedroom door" bathroom. Clearly not intended for use by others, but not ensuite by the normal use of the word.

Breakfast was good; no complaints on this score. It seemed as if more effort had gone into the provison of a good breakfast than some other aspects of the accommodation.

There is no parking on site, but there is a public pay and display car park very close by. This is not large. We had no problems getting into this in January but can imagine this may be harder at peak times. There are other car parks in the vicinity but much further away.

Overall, then, not bad but not perfect either. Great breakfast, so-so rooms. The central location and relative lack of competition presumably accounts for the pricing. A month or so earlier we had stayed in one of the highly rated B & Bs on Ocean Road, South Shields, where we obtained much higher standards for considerably less. Perhaps an opportunity for someone wanting to establish another B & B in Whitstable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MASWScreenwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed one night,while cycling around Kent coast and wished we could have stayed longer. Had a lovely room with dual aspect, restful seaside decor, comfortable bed and added bonus of sofa. Georgina provided cycle storage for us. The private shower room along the corridor was fine despite what some people have said about it being small, and I am not skinny or young, and the dressing gowns provided preserved our modesty. Slept soundly and woke early to spend an hour sipping coffee perched on the sofa, people watching as the promenade awoke. Breakfast was excellent, huge portion of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs set me up for the day. As for previous comment about smell of washing powder, I would prefer to describe it as the smell of clean laundry, which I find reassuring in a bed and breakfast. Would stay again as place is individual and has personality!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room without ensuite but private bathroom along corridor,on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fenrotherwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This has a 4 rosette ranking and is in a good position for town/beach and near to car park. - The ranking is from 2009 and sadly it seems that since then the establishment has been allowed to deteriorate and it has become rather jaded and unloved in parts. Found dust and a pervading smell of cheap washing powder. Not really worth its billing on the website or the price charged. Not all rooms are ensuite.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Having wanted to escape to the seaside for ages and allow my Turkish boyfriend to experience some of the more beautiful areas of England (we live in London!!), I stumbled across Copeland House on the internet. Having read a few negative reviews on Tripadvisor I was cautious, but I am now writing this review in order to contradict every negative comment about Copeland House. It's location is perfect, right on the seafront, and even if you don't have a seaview room, which we didn't, it doesn't mean to say that you can't hear the sound of the sea when you wake up. Rooms were cosy and adequately provided for with tea/coffee making facilities and the usual tv etc. Breakfasts, held in a beautiful wooden-decked kitsch dining room were heavenly - a lovely fresh fruit salad, as much fresh coffee/tea as you could manage and then a choice of either a fantastic full English breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs (I had these and they were amazing) or poached eggs on English muffins. Service was friendly, informal and unobtrusive, and we were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. I will DEFINITELY be recommending Copeland House and hope to return there (and to beautiful Whitstable) again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwincessp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
1.7 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
699 reviews
16.6 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
502 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copeland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copeland House

Property: Copeland House
Address: 4 Island Wall, Whitstable CT5 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copeland House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Copeland House Hotel Whitstable
Copeland House Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing