We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely B&b with friendly staff and pets”
Review of Copeland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copeland House
Ranked #9 of 12 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely B&b with friendly staff and pets”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely quaint B&B, perfectly situated on the seafront near the harbour. Great breakfast, fresh fruit every day and friendly staff.
Nice pubs either side on the seafront and only 2 minutes walk from the chintzy Whitstable high street.
Car park is pay and display to rear of building £4/£5 a night.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StinkySkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    25
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We liked everything about Copeland House, from Georgina's cheerful welcome to the cosy sea-view room. The breakfast was delicious - full English with yoghurt and fresh fruit too. We went for the room 6 with a sea view and it was perfect - big bed and sofa. Comfy, cosy, come here if you're going to whitstable!

Room Tip: Room 6 had great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareF857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Whitstable is a wonderful place for a seaside break at any time of the year, and our stay at Copeland House made our weekend all the more special and memorable. The house has a quirky, charming character, (like it's owner!), and we had a delightful room on the ground floor, without sea view but with garden access. Everything was homely, cosy and clean, and the breakfast was excellent. Possible the best B&B we've stayed in, in this country.....looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Copeland house is set in a lovely location perfect for a weekend away. We have been on 4 occasions and have had a perfectly clean/cosy room every time. Breakfast was tasty we could not fault it atall. Would definatly recommend this B&B to all

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biscuit22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

fantastic location. lovely breakfast. comfy bed. this b&b has character and charm. Georgina is friendly, amusing and helpful with local knowledge. will definitely return!
Quite bemused by some of the comments on here...and can certainly not say i had the same experience with my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I'm surprised to see some of the other comments about Copeland House. We arrived this week without a reservation and although there was no one at home when we arrived someone quickly arrived to take our enquiry despite the fact that it was blowing a gale outside and pouring with rain. We took a room upstairs with an en suite that looked out over the road. It was a little on the small side but perfectly fine for a short stay, and we didn't find it noisy at all. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast the next morning was served with a big smile by the lovely Jackie who couldn't do enough to make sure we had what we needed, and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was generous and delicious. Simple but friendly and lovely B&B in an excellent location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManamaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

On arrival to the Copeland, there was no one to greet us. The bedroom was very small and pokey. We inspected the bed (as you do!) and there were some stains and a bloody scab looking thing on the undersheet, when I told them about it, I thought it would have been changed when we got back but it wasn't, so I put a bath towel on it and tried to sleep that night! My husband kept knocking his head on the shelf above the sink in the bathroom, when we mentioned it to the the owner she just said 'well that's a first'! We decided to go home a night earlier, which she wasn't pleased about and tried to charge us extra, which we didn't pay obviously. All in all a very rude owner. The 2 nice things about the B&B was her 2 manx cats!!!

Room Tip: At the front of the house, quite noisy, stay at the back. Very pokey place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
1.7 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
696 reviews
16.6 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
502 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copeland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copeland House

Property: Copeland House
Address: 4 Island Wall, Whitstable CT5 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copeland House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Copeland House Hotel Whitstable
Copeland House Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing