We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely to be back”
other travellers have booked this property
Hideaway Cottage in Whitstable. A real treat.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hideaway Cottage in Whitstable. A real treat.
2 dining tables, one in lounge area and one in conservatory. Can be moved together for large parties
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Hideaway Cottage in Whitstable. A real treat.
2 dining tables, one in lounge area and one in conservatory. Can be moved together for large parties
Shower cabin ensuite in downstairs flatlet, with seat for those that dont like to stand in a shower.
Bedroom 3 has sea views and en-suite. Optional walkway into main bathroom.and access to the balcony
View from the kitchen into the dining area conservatory
Well supplied Kitchen
Dishwasher, Butler sink and mood lighting
Play chess as you watch the sun go down
Watch the sun go down over the sea
Whitstable Yacht Club. Surrounded by so many eateries and traditional pubs
Ensuite to Master bedroom with multi shower and freestanding rolltop bath
Large relaxing lounge with four sofas, plentiful seating
Bedroom 4 with a double and single bed. Balcony and sea facing room.
Large freeview/Smart TVs in all rooms. Iphone player and charger. DVD and Video with lots to watch.
Large bedroom in downstairs flatlet
Hideaway Cottage Detached spacious property with parking for 2 cars and lovely sea-views
Large downstairs extra shower room with automatic lighting.
Charming, Spacious and light kitchen diner. This photo has been squashed to fit into the screen.
Large lounge with comfy seating for all
Automatic night mood lighting in downstairs flatlet
Neptune Pub on the beach, stop enroute for lunch, band night and or sea watching with a cool beer
Kitchenette in downstairs flatlet with toaster and kettle
Downstairs flatette off of main kitchen with garden acces/patio doors and window
Master suite with mood lighting.
New ensuite and dressing area off of Master suite.
Plentiful storage. 4 chest of drawers and large wardrobe.
Walk through from bathroom and Master bedroom to dressing room.
Warming stove. Bring your own logs or let us supply for a small charge. A treat winter and summer
Driveway for two vehicles.
Ever changing views
Enjoy seaviews if youd like whilst relaxing in this deep roll top bath.
Columbia Road Park. great playground for children and grass for dogs. Two streets walk away.
Recycling baskets and walkway off of kitchen into optional flatlet
Pub garden, decking and play area perfect for families and pet owners wanting to enjoy the seaviews
Bedroom 4. One comfy double and one comfy single bed.
Balcony and seaviews
Small secluded cottage garden with plentiful seating. A real sun trap, early till late.
Pretty night time lights.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
12lola
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely to be back”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well, who could have envisaged the fabulous weather we experienced this week on our return to lovely Hideaway.
We can thoroughly recommend Hideaway. Eating at the Rose and Bloom (opposite the house) was fantastic. Tip, just let the owner know if like me, you are vegetarian. Steve will make sure there is something suitable available.
As we had stayed last year, we could get straight down to revisiting old favourites as well as some new ones. Faversham is lovely. We visited on market day. One off stalls selling unusual items.
Many Thanks Kim. The new kitchen is fab. No problems at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthieB1
1 review
“A great house for a sunny holiday”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We loved the house. The location was great for walking into town and to the nearby pub for dinner. The garden was sunny and the house provided lots of places to curl up and read or watch tv. Upstairs shower was just as we like it, as was the very comfortable mattress. Only downside was the cost of the firewood (£20 for 6 logs! I would suggest picking some up for a fraction of the price at the local supermarket) and the cost of the wi-fi (there is no nice way to say that this is over priced). Otherwise it was a perfect holiday home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2014
Im really pleased you had a good stay. Hideaway is perfect for relaxing. Im also sorry that the log basket was not over filled for your arrival.Extra logs if prebooked are in the hoover cupboard and i will ensure that my housekeeper is aware that both areas should be checked during each clean. I do hope you come again and of course a discount and logs will be available for you free of charge. Kind Regards Kim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
april6582...
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

So well equipped and everything you need. Owner made us very welcome and would definitely go back. It's just over the road from a lovely welcoming pub and the sea. Also a nice walk to the village and the Neptune pub. Overall a lovely place to be

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and the whole house
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelst...
1 review
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Fabulous location views to sea, five minute walks to beach. Great restaurants, pubs, shops, bowling etc in walking distance didn't use the car at all. The accommodation was a* could not fault it the owner thought of everything you could possibly need even for a young family. The decoration was lovely the place clean and modern. We all had a fantastic relaxing time will definitely return :)

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinkbrody...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden costs and rudeness ruined an otherwise lovely stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have just recently moved down South and was very excited to have my friends come and stay for the weekend. All of us stayed in the Hideaway, which is a lovely cottage (aside from the mould on the wall in the Master bedroom) on the seafront.

Upon arrival at the cottage we were greeted by NUMEROUS post it notes around the cottage. The post it notes informed us that there had been prior problems with the toilet and would block easily...therefore upon the advice of our Plumber friend in the group; we came up with an 'only #1 rule' for that toilet. You can imagine our surprise then when we returned from the trip that we were informed that we had blocked the toilet. Surprised further that the blockage had come from flushing sanitary towels; as all the female guests are pregnant. So I shall be having serious words with my boyfriend as there is clearly something he is not telling me. £50 was taken for plumbers fees.

Overall the trip was ruined by the Owners subsequent sarcasm, rude and unwelcoming unprofessional manner. For an example of the kind of thing I mean, see below as I'm certain this review will attract a 'witty' response from aforementioned owner. As a result, I will not be recommending the Hideaway to any of the numerous family or friends who intend to visit me in the future. Shame.

Regards, Lola.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2014
Dear Lola & Aimee Childs. Firstly you told me that you had a lovely stay. There is no mould on the wall (a small water leak which happened just prior during the storms) and there was no problem with toilet upon your arrival. if you had informed me of any problems I would have ensured all were fixed immediately as I take great pride in making sure all is perfect for all holidaymakers. You decided not to tell me about either issue and instead allowed my housekeeper on the Sunday to find an overflowing blocked toilet. If your friend is a plumber he would have been able to fix the blockage caused during your stay surely rather than tell all in the party not to use this loo, although i would have sent someone if aware of the problem.
Your deposit was returned in full despite the damage and panic that you caused in not informing us so that we had little time to prepare for the next guests. Leaving problems such as this for my housekeeper to find on a Sunday is unfair. My phone number is in the property and on all paperwork and a quick text would have had the toilet unblocked without any disruption to you.
There are no hidden costs. Everything is on the website and on the email sent with each enquiry. You chose to pay via paypal even though i told you they take charges and if you pay via bank it is free.
i hope you have happy holidays in the future, though im also sure you will have had a good time at Hideaway & I ask that you let the management or owners know of any problems small or otherwise as you find so that they can be fixed immediately and not just left for the next guests to have to find. Yours sincerely, Kim, owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToniaCee
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely house, perfect location”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I stayed at Hideaway with my boyfriend and our dog. The house was lovely and provided us with everything we needed (although you do need to bring everything you might need to cook with as there was only salt in the cupboard!) and the location suited us really well with the dog. You can see the sea from the living room and upstairs which is lovely and it only takes a few minutes to walk down to the beach. It's directly opposite a lovely pub which does amazing fish and chips and has a dog friendly beer garden and you are well situated to witness some amazing sunsets. We had the wood stove going in the evenings which was really cosy and well worth doing in the colder months. The house was very clean and well appointed. Would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2014
Im really pleased it was just the break you needed and wish you all the best for the coming year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne2501
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit tired”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here in Sept 2012. May have been updated since then but it was like staying at your Gran's house. Far too many disparate Nic nacs and pictures. China and cutlery all mis matched. A sea view and beach over the road ( but over a railway track first, wasn't mentioned in the description). We chose this property as it had rare off street parking. It was a good 25-30 min walk into Whitstable though so didn't feel like we were in the town.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Dear Lynne, it is a real disappointment that after 2 years you have thought to put such a poor review on. i am forever improving/maintaining Hideaway and it is a lovely modern property. Maybe you are getting muddled with another as your stay was such a long time ago. If your Gran has a property as modern as Hideaway you must be really proud. I beleive you are giving all completely the wrong impression just so that you can get your senior super starage tripadvisor status. I hope this doesnt damage the 5 star reputation myself and my housekeeper have acheived at Hideaway and that guests do not miss out on a lovely holiday just because of our out of date review. Yours sincerely, Mrs Matthews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$331
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing