We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful holiday retreat with great amentities”
other travellers have booked this property
Hideaway Cottage in Whitstable. A real treat.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hideaway Cottage in Whitstable. A real treat.
2 dining tables, one in lounge area and one in conservatory. Can be moved together for large parties
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Hideaway Cottage in Whitstable. A real treat.
2 dining tables, one in lounge area and one in conservatory. Can be moved together for large parties
Shower cabin ensuite in downstairs flatlet, with seat for those that dont like to stand in a shower.
Bedroom 3 has sea views and en-suite. Optional walkway into main bathroom.and access to the balcony
View from the kitchen into the dining area conservatory
Well supplied Kitchen
Dishwasher, Butler sink and mood lighting
Play chess as you watch the sun go down
Watch the sun go down over the sea
Whitstable Yacht Club. Surrounded by so many eateries and traditional pubs
Ensuite to Master bedroom with multi shower and freestanding rolltop bath
Large relaxing lounge with four sofas, plentiful seating
Bedroom 4 with a double and single bed. Balcony and sea facing room.
Large freeview/Smart TVs in all rooms. Iphone player and charger. DVD and Video with lots to watch.
Large bedroom in downstairs flatlet
Hideaway Cottage Detached spacious property with parking for 2 cars and lovely sea-views
Large downstairs extra shower room with automatic lighting.
Charming, Spacious and light kitchen diner. This photo has been squashed to fit into the screen.
Large lounge with comfy seating for all
Automatic night mood lighting in downstairs flatlet
Neptune Pub on the beach, stop enroute for lunch, band night and or sea watching with a cool beer
Kitchenette in downstairs flatlet with toaster and kettle
Downstairs flatette off of main kitchen with garden acces/patio doors and window
Master suite with mood lighting.
New ensuite and dressing area off of Master suite.
Plentiful storage. 4 chest of drawers and large wardrobe.
Walk through from bathroom and Master bedroom to dressing room.
Warming stove. Bring your own logs or let us supply for a small charge. A treat winter and summer
Driveway for two vehicles.
Ever changing views
Enjoy seaviews if youd like whilst relaxing in this deep roll top bath.
Columbia Road Park. great playground for children and grass for dogs. Two streets walk away.
Recycling baskets and walkway off of kitchen into optional flatlet
Pub garden, decking and play area perfect for families and pet owners wanting to enjoy the seaviews
Bedroom 4. One comfy double and one comfy single bed.
Balcony and seaviews
Small secluded cottage garden with plentiful seating. A real sun trap, early till late.
Pretty night time lights.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
lindapayn...
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful holiday retreat with great amentities”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed for a long weekend in this very spacious well maintained cottage. It was situated not far from the beach and town, via a footpath close by. The pub opposite was perfect for food and drinks on the patio. Nice views of the beach together with bright comfortable rooms quickly put us in the holiday mood. Eating breakfast in the garden was a treat and the evenings were very cosy on the big comfy sofas in the lounge. The property is well furnished and very clean, perfect for a short or long stay with friends, as there's plenty of space for everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage had a comfortable and welcoming feel to it.
Liked least: The fact we left the dog at home, didn't realise pets are also welcome!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a fab stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodeoronn...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect 'Hideaway'”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Hideaway is perfectly placed, as it's away from the hubble bubble of central Whistable, but you can take a very pleasant walk along the beach on a proper path to the centre, enjoying the beautiful scenery, amazing properties (you see Peter Cushings house with blue plaque), plus the many boats and lovely little old fashioned beach huts. At the end of,the walk there is a market in the harbour area, which is interesting to explore. This market is being renewed presently, to reopen in the near future. Directly opposite the Hideaway is a pub called the Rose in Bloom. The owner gives you a warm welcome, the food is good and well priced, plus if you go early evening, you may witness the most amazing sunsets from the patio garden, which looks out over the sea. Even if you are in the Hideaway, you can still see the sunset from the living room window. Whistable is an interesting, vibrant town, with lots of restaurants and shops to choose from. The Hideaway gives you the best of both worlds, peace and quiet, or by car, you are in the centre in minutes. The house is cosy, bright and comfortable and I have enjoyed many stays here. I would recommend it and will be returning this summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was amazing!
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely "home from home"”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just spent a weekend in this fabulous cottage with my fiancé and we just don't want to leave. It was really comfortable with everything you could possibly need. This is the 3rd time we've stayed here over the past few years and the standard has always remained constant with on-going refurbishments (beautiful new luxurious bathroom this time ). We find it really convenient to get into town which is full of great shops and restaurants and we also ate in the pub opposite which is a real gem with views across the sea and a brilliant fish menu on a Friday night.

The owner's instructions are very detailed and we were given free wi-if as we were returning customers.

Highly recommended!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTub...
london
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“poorly maintained, walkable to centre”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

There are no extras with this house,whatever you want plan to bring it yourself, washing up liquid etc. The house was poorly maintained. We found frayed carpets, stains on soft furnishings, the kitchen equipment (althought plentifu)l some was broken and well past its best. The house is close to the centre (10min walk along the beach). There are two bathrooms, both recently decorated. There are extra charges in addition to the headline figure e.g wifi £10 and the booking fee is £50.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
there were 2 partly broken spectacular spoons that this booker left out with a big note saying -look at this! Wow - why she took the time I really don't know when there are several others to chose from. There is washing up liquid along with lots of cleaning materials - she only had to look under the sink. But maybe she didn't have time after going through the cutlery draw with velour.
The two new bathrooms and three bedrooms are beautifully decorated and a real bonus to the property.
there was one tiny finger stain on the material on the chair. this has now been removed.
There was a small piece of frayed carpet, recently damaged, now replaced.
It takes a certain holidaymaker to write a review like this and not focus on anything positive about the cottage. Everything you would want is provided. My housekeeper will be so upset to read this as she works hard to keep the property beautifully clean.
Any extras re booking fee and WiFi if not given freely as it often is, it disclosed on the initial costing. Shame on you Miss I work for the FCA, a jobworths thats all i can say.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob S
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super Break”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Clean, perfect accommodation for everyone. Everything we needed excellent location can not fault this property at all. Will definitely re book. So close to shops, beach, pub etc Great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: We had to come home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Random674
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok, but not big enough and FREEZING!”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this house for 6 adults (3 couples) and a 2 year old toddler. The owners knew it was for this many and assured us there was plenty of room.

We found the property easily, the location was good and the pub was located opposite. We came as separate groups and met in the pub.

Upon entering the house at about 3.30pm we were astounded at how icy cold it was. To say the heating is complicated was an understatement, you needed a PhD in gadgetry to get it going. 4 of us were very gadget-minded 30 somethings and it took us over 30 mins to get it started. At 6pm, (2.5 hrs after entering) we still had our outside coats on and needed to light the fire (at a £20 cost for logs) just to get some proper heat into the place. Very unimpressed. The heating should have been on low when we went in, not off entirely.

Bedrooms were good sizes, nice linen and clean, and the 2 bathrooms were also clean and looked to be newly finished.

We stayed in for the night, we brought our own food and intended to eat in the house. The kitchen was reasonably well equipped, but the fridge had been turned down to the absolute minimum, there was no proper draining board and work space was minimal.

The biggest issue however was the sofa seating. The rather large ground floor has the sofa seating squashed into one section, giving room instead to a second dining table which was totally unnecessary as the kitchen table satisfies this purpose. There is only sufficient sofa seating for 5 people, which for a property with beds for 7, is unacceptable and to our opinion was inaccurate advertising. One of our party had to spend the evening sitting on a dining chair which really was very poor.

Overall the property served its purpose. However, we felt that the rules and regulations which are written EVERYWHERE to tell you what you are and are not allowed to do made you consistently aware that you were in someone else's home and unable to fully relax. The property feels like it was a home which has been (poorly) converted to a rental, which is to the detriment of the guest. The beds have been crammed in, and bedding space is more generous than living space. The bed in the master bedroom has an old, sagging mattress which needs changing. The issue with the heating was utterly unforgivable and should have been organised properly before our arrival.

Outside construction is taking place. A hastily erected panel to block out the works being undertaken was not mindful of the broken patio and left a large health and safety risk. We were unable to let our 2 year old toddler into the patio area as the risk was to great if her stumbling and injuring herself.

Did we enjoy it, yes. Would we return, no. Would we recommend it, sorry, not at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Dear Fiona, i was really saddened to see this review. Firstly no one has ever had a problem with the heating in the property. The whole house has normal central heating with an easy thermostat in the lounge. Secondary underfloor heating in other rooms plus electric panel heaters if you dont want the whole central heating on. Plus a stove. There are full heating instructions should you need them and all are easy to use. PHD is really unnecassary to switch on.
The bed in the master bedroom is in fact under a year old and the mattress is memory foam. If there was a problem i wish you had said and it would have been looked at. im sure there is a simple fix for it as it is 100% not saggy. Maybe a strutt has come away or moved underneth? This will be looked at first thing in the morning. Why didnt you say?
Regarding the table in the lounge, this was put in after another guest suggested. Its lovely to have the choice and to eat whilst looking over the sea from the front, and equally eating at the back enjoying the garden.
Yes the garage has recently been horded round as is being rebuilt towards the end of the year but should not stop your enjoyment. again if there was a problem it would have been nice of you to let me know and it would have been dealt with straight away.
Im glad still managed to enjoy yourself as you can see so many others have before you. And im sorry you wouldn't recommend Hideaway to others. Its a great shame as in my opinion and in many others its a lovely place to stay. yours sincerely, kim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgnchungl...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hideaway , Whitstable ”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We couldn't ask for a better place to stay after my hip operation. With limited mobility myself and an elderly mum as well, we wanted a place to stay with a walk in shower and toilet on the ground floor. With 3 good sized bedrooms, one king size on ground floor - perfect for us!
The luxurious linens and feather quilts and pillows added to our feeling of contentment !
Kitchen had everything you could imagine! It had more equipment than the average holiday rental!
The washing machine and dishwasher were brilliant ! The bathrooms were all luxurious! All en-suites were very helpful! The Conservatory was well used , even in the cold February weather! Heating was lovely and my mum didn't complain at all and she feels the cold all the time!
We loved the wood burner in the living room/ lounge- so cosy on cold winter nights abs during the afternoon after shopping !
The sofas in the lounge were so comfy and we enjoyed retiring to the lounge in the evenings and watching TV on the large screen!
There are TVs in all Bedrooms, again
a luxury!
Parking space was an asset as a lot of rentals do not have an allocated parking space !
Near to Whitstable, Canterbury is 20 mins away , Hempstead Valley Shopping Centre is 26 mins away . So much choice and so easy to get straight onto the motorway!
Amenities nearby - post office 5 mins walk up the road and Rose in Bloom pub opposite served us fantastic grub !
I will be booking again soon as it's too good a place to not return!
My mum , 88 would highly recommend the place as she slept like a baby !
5 star luxury and not as expensive as other places with facilities'
Well recommended !
Kim, owner helpful and her communications are very efficient and helpful throughout the booking process!
Love this place !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing