We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“such a brilliant cafe!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windy Corner Stores & Cafe

Windy Corner Stores & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“such a brilliant cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We absolutely love this rustic cafe/restaurant and it is starting Tapas and games evenings in the autumn. I just wish we lived nearer so we could go in the evenings.
Mushrooms on toast for breakfast are to die for!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    39
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kngdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“So different to the BIG Coffee Chains and well worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

If you want a sterile, anodine and dull experience, go to those mega coffee chains and you won't be disappointed.

However, if you re after somejing a little off beat and welcoming, go to Windy Corner. Delightful food in very pleasant surrounds and at reasonable cost. If you go for the Full English be prepared to wax lyrical about IT AND ESPECIALLY the mushrooms.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Manfromthebubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top Class Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We decided to try Windy Corner Stores for breakfast after passing by and seeing the fantastic lunch being served. We had one full English (£6.80) and one vegetarian breakfast (£6.50) including tea. Both breakfasts were fantastic and the vegetarian was particularly imaginative featuring a stuffed pepper in the centre, which was unexpected but very tasty indeed. Portions were huge and well cooked. A competitor for our old favourite, Tea and Times.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AdoptedLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Capturing the spirit of Whitstable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Windy Corner is the perfect establishment for this town of ours. It is quirky, even a bit nutty, but that fits in well with the Whitstable spirit. I love the home-baked bread - we live on it all year round rather than the rubbery rubbish from the supermarkets. The food is excellent, in particular the fresh coffee, BLT butties and have you ever tasted a better brownie?! As for the staff, I have always found them polite, chilled and friendly. What more could I ask for? I do hope they get the thumbs up from Canterbury City Council to open late and serve meals. I think Windy C is the best thing that has happened to Island Wall and the environs in recent years.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Triona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
128 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Reviewing my earlier review (regretably)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Windy has been a long standing favourite of ours (see earlier post). However 2 recent (dismal) visits have tainted our views somewhat!
Windy has always been an independent, quirky, relaxed little oasis of all things delicious-a place you lingered over a cornucopia of tasty delights-served in a welcoming manner with a smile.
Sadly something has gone wrong-badly wrong!
Our two recent visits (which will be our last for a while) revealed that the trend is down hill. Gone is the welcome, the service with a smile and the delicious indivual food and great coffee.
Instead we have brusque, bored youngsters, overly long waits for some quite unremarkable food and stale cake.
The place is grimy in the extreme-old food encrusted tables, a floor much in need of cleaning and dusty corners.
Come on windy - towns need what you used to bring-flair', decent locally sourced ingredients, a buzzy vibe and great service. This grimy, uninspiring, soul less, smile free zone is a travesty of its former self.
Come back the windy of old, or I fear the plasticised, homogenised 'Costa' will feature large,

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank susiewKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windy Corner Stores & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Windy Corner Stores & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing