We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Impromtu curry on a weekend escape”
Review of Shapla Tandoori

Shapla Tandoori
Ranked #88 of 123 Restaurants in Whitstable
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic Impromtu curry on a weekend escape”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Having escaped from children and all domestic responsibility for the weekend, a friend and I found ourselves in lovely Whitstable for the evening! We didn't intend to have Indian but were very glad we did. Really light and tasty food, well presented, good portions and pleasant service. Haven't had bombay potatoes for years but these were fantastic.

Its quite a small restaurant and it was full the whole time. Really nice meal, would recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diesel1Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    16
    16
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect local spot”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food, and great customer service. Easy location on Harbour Street. This is one of my favourite Indian restaurants in Whitstable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Indian restaurant”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Excellent service and excellent food. The Service is very efficient and the Manager and staff make you feel very welcome.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Diabolical”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just moved to Whitstable and thought we'd try out the local eateries. All I can say is that this is probably the worst Indian restaurant I have ever been unfortunate to encounter.
The service was shocking to say the least and the food awful. The dishes had absolutely no flavour or spice resembling traditional Indian food.
There was obviously cricket on the telly or something, as the rude, dis-interested arrogant waiter couldn't wait to get rid of us.
I never write reviews, but thought it my duty to warn the people of Whitstable and any poor unsuspecting visitors to this beautiful town, not to go anywhere near this pathetic and lazy establishment

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Will N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Standard Indian fayre”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Not sure if we're rating this as 'average' as we were cold, wet & starving but the food was perfectly acceptable! The 'king prawns' were a bit of a cop out for the price as they weren't king prawns as I know them - more the small frozen prawns from the supermarket. The popadums were also the most salty I have ever eaten. There were no other people in the restaurant but we found the waiter serving us aloof & stern faced. Some more people came in later but he wasn't very friendly. We got full on Indian & it was tasty but it would have been even better served with a smile!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fozza82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shapla Tandoori also viewed

Whitstable, Kent
 
Whitstable, Kent
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to Shapla Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing