We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky little pub”
Review of Old Neptune

Old Neptune
Ranked #3 of 23 Nightlife in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gosport
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky little pub”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Popped into The Old Neptune mainly to shelter from a downpour.We stayed for an hour or so. The decor was so interesting we were intrigued by it all. I agree with others that it was overpriced especially the food. We decided not to eat there after all. But we liked the look of the place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tr00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    51
    16
    3
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

What a good spot right on the beach. I had a couple of beers in here Saturday afternoon. Very busy, the food looked average and the bar staff (girls) looked like they needed cheering up, a smile wouldn't have gone a miss. Interesting place with good old pictures and info on the walls inside the pub. I heard that a band was playing Saturday night but didn't stay to see them. Samuel Adams on draught which I hadn't tried before, an American beer somewhere between a lager and a bitter. I won't rush back but would suggest you give it a try.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veliko Tarnovo Province, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Horribly expensive and Dirty”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Sadly this is yet another poorly run pub in Whitstable, its obvious that they do not care,the site is right on the beach and most visiting this pub are tourists who will only ever go once.

The interior of the pub is dirty, it does not look like they have cleaned it for weeks, the gents was a joke, in some respects if it were legal you would be better off going in the sea, at least the tide would take the effluent away One pub to miss this year if you can.

Price guide:
Two Pints of lager and a packet of crisps £10.00 Friday aug 23rd 2013
BBQ Burger for two £8.00 ( no chips or plate or salad), we did not eat there as the burger chef (sic) had no hand wash , except filthy water in a bucket.

When we came back home despite not eating there we were both sick as dogs, NOT recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Thanet_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint little pub on the beach”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Quaint little pub on the brach a few minutes walk from the centre of town, friendly staff and live music at weekends

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“History in a pub!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

A good old fashioned English pub with good ales, occasional entertainment and oodles of history! Set closer to the sea than I've ever seen elsewhere and built of timbers of previous incarnations smashed by wild seas. It's seen the sea freeze and floods that brought Whitstable to its knees. Great food, best Ales and history all in one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Neptune also viewed

 

Been to Old Neptune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing