We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sea view and quaint accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts
Ranked #1 of 13 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sea view and quaint accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay in the Fisherman huts over a beautiful sunny Spring weekend. Bright and airy top bedroom floor with views of the sea. Found lodge clean and kept in good shape.

Standard facilities (tea/toaster) etc which we didn't really need but I wouldn't be planning on self catering (more just added touches). Bathroom is small- but excellent shower.

Only complaint is the bed which was two singles zipped together- so spent night either rolling in or trying to get out of the middle! Thankfully the sea air had made us tired

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jinnu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
hi
Great you had a good stay and the sea air had the desired effect.. Originally the reason for having zipped mattresses was that the stairs are so narrow that we thought we could not get a kingsize mattress up the stairs!-but we experimented and did eventually get one up last week so the rest of the zipped mattresses will be change before summer
thanks again
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    110
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
89
184
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We recently had a weekend staying in hut 8. The hut was fabulous and very well equipped with a fridge, microwave, cutlery, glasses, plates and bowls and a well stocked hospitality tray. Nicely decorated and very comfortable, warm and very clean. Each hut has its own allocated parking. The views across the beach were amazing. All local amenities are within easy walking distance, we never used our car once whilst staying here. We enjoyed the walk to the hotel for breakfast which was very tasty and you can help yourself to as much as you want, there was a good selection of both hot and cold to choose from. All staff we encountered were pleasant and friendly. We will definitely be back and can't praise the hut enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again soon
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Anderson Shed on the Monday of the Feb half term. (Myself, my friend, her 2 daughters and my 2 daughters). The check in was quick, the shed was absolutely fab. So tasteful & clean and plenty of room for the 6 of us. We had amazing weather. The location of the cottage style shed allowed us beautiful views of the boats, beach and perfect Whitstable skies. It was surprisingly quiet. We all enjoyed our breakfast at the Hotel Continental and really loaded up our plates. We had such a great time, we wished we could have stayed longer. No negatives whatsoever. A huge plus is the free parking space next to the shed. I must mention how pleasant the ladies at the reception were - a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb01212205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
i'm glad you enjoyed your stay in the anderson's shed -it is great for larger parties and is separate from the other huts. I'm afraid i can't take credit for the weather but i have passed your comments onto the staff and said good job!!!!
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I have visited Whitstable all my life, and remember it well as a quaint but authentic old Kentish port. I have visited the "new" Whitstable a few times now and it just plain lacks the charm of the old, pre-occupied as the various catering, accommodation and shop businesses are with making their money from the market drummed up by those determined that it should be like St Ives or Wells-next-the-Sea. It all feels rather contrived.

We chose the Hotel Continental, Fishermens'Hut week-end stay plus breakfast at £350 per hut. This proved an over-priced and disappointing experience...

The location of the huts is amongst the best in town, but is marred by (a) the need to accommodate parking by the huts and (b) the positively Piccadilly Circus-like traffic of tourists immediately alongside. The parking arrangements don't work anyway, because the visiting 4x4s are too big and mess up the designated spaces; result: chaos and arguments.

The real disappointment, though, is the lack of attention to basic service details: no towel drying rail in the kitchen area; inadequate self-catering gear, mixed, poor quality and insufficient crockery and cutlery, lack of chairs, lack of comfort. No coffee or tea. All of this undermines the potential charm, as do 2 large flatscreen TVs (possibly a Godsend to families, to be fair).

The 10-15m walk over to breakfast at the hotel is pleasant (the weather over our stay was fantastic - we were lucky!). The breakfast itself is an old-fashioned greasy spoon, self-served from under warming lamps. There are no options: no kippers, no smoked haddock. The espresso coffee machine was broken the entire week-end. This is the budget-end of catering serving a very expensive stay.

The staff are pleasant enough, but the experience overall is of a business that knows its market is secure at its high prices, that the punters will come anyway, and which doesn't really give a monkey's about what it actually delivers.

If you go prepared for a few niggles, you should enjoy the huts - especially with kids; don't, though, expect anything above good sea views and easy access to the waterfront for your money.

We were in Whitstable for a family event held at the Marine Hotel in nearby Tankerton, against which the Continental pales horribly.

A refurb is underway, which may improve things, but one suspects not - there seems to be an attitude problem; one word sums it up: indifference.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lanod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed in hut 11 & it was excellent . So excellent we could have happily stayed in the hut forever ! Tastefully decorated , very modern , in fact everything it had everything that you needed .
Situated right on the sea front ( this hut is slightly behind another but don't let that put you off ) & amongst the wonderful hub of Whitstable , it's must stay for somewhere unusual & cool to stay .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julzzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
hi, thanks for your great review and we hope to see you again soon
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Arrived Wednesday had an excellent lobster lunch before we went to the hut. We stayed in hut 8 which was excellent clean and warm and we wanted for nothing. The view was excellent and really peaceful. Elaine who cleans the rooms was very nice and friendly and the staff at the hotel were really helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was really good and freshly cooked and a nice walk from the huts. We ate at the Cumberland pub and the Albert but on the last evening we went to the oyster restaurant which was more than excellent. Our two dogs says that they would love to go back and stay again because the walks along the beach was very safe. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Great that you had a nice time breakfast should be better next time you come as we are having new dis[plays fitted and I shall tell Elaine to keep up the good work.
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Review of Hut 14:

The hut was really well thought out and modern - it had two double bedrooms (one smaller than the other), one bathroom with a shower, flat screen TVs in every room, microwave, kettle, toaster, clean fluffy towels and all bed linen. There were 3 of us which was fine but if there had been two couples it would have been a bit of a squeeze in my opinion.

Hut 14 is right next to the Whitstable Oyster Company restaurant and the main high street, and more importantly a 40second stumbling walk from Pearsons pub which was handy (had a delicious lunch there)! The parking space is a slight walk and we had to make two trips with our luggage.

It's about a 7 minute walk to breakfast along the harbour which was great for clearing the head. Stop off at the fish market on the way - delicious oysters you can eat there and beautiful fish / seafood to take home which was reasonably priced. Breakfast itself was very good quality. A full cooked breakfast is on offer (self service) all cooked fresh and great quality. A range of fresh fruit, toast and cereal are also on offer. Definitely worth the walk.

I thought the hut was slightly pricey for what we got but it was immaculate and definitely a different kind of experience than a hotel. It was really comfortable and cosy and we will definitely be back when the weather warms up a bit. We got caught in a storm but it was actually great to be in the hut hearing the waves and the rain. Beware that the seagulls are very loud around 7am which must be feeding time! All part of the seaside adventure though.

All in all a really enjoyable weekend and we would stay in the hut again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kas25Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hut 14 is separate from the other huts so is quieter and situated right next to the Oyster Co restaurant. It is easier if you stop in the road quickly and drop the luggage off at the hut then park the car. Again if you want to save money look out for special deals at quiet times especially in the winter.
thanks for coming
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
1.9 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
15.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
6.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts

Property: Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts
Address: Sea Wall, Whitstable, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These Fisherman's Huts have been tastefully converted to provide a variety of overnight accommodation, most with sea views, in a very central location ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing