We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishermans Huts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts
Ranked #1 of 12 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex U.K.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fishermans Huts”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had a very enjoyable mini break staying in the Anderson Shed with my elderly Mother. Easy parking along side the hut and 2 comfortable bedrooms, a walk-in shower room and a second loo made for privacy and comfort.

There is a kitchen and sitting room on the 1st floor with great views of the beach. Great spec. We walked to the Hotel Continental for breakfast which took 10 minutes. Will definitely come again.

Room Tip: We did not have a balcony but some of the huts have this option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gudmundkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi
The Anderson's shed is our biggest unit that has two double bedrooms downstairs and a living area with a sofa bed upstairs, but alas no balcony. Hut 14 and 10 have small balconies.
Thanks for coming james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    114
    22
    13
    7
See reviews for
94
188
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from our second stay at the huts. Last year we had hut 8, this year hut 6. These are both dog friendly, and right on the beach front. A short walk up to the Hotel Continental for brekkie is a superb start to the day when you are holidaying with a four legged friend. The staff who service the rooms are so friendly, and do a great job keeping you topped up with fresh towels, and cleaning up after sandy paws have been all over. Parking at your door, comfy beds and right at the heart of holiday life. You can't fault these huts for a proper English seaside break, like in the old days! If you find my Raybans, which I lost or left in the hut, it would be great to get them back !

Room Tip: Of the four dog friendly huts - two have "ladder" stairs, which mean carrying dogs up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0claireh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
hi
Thanks for coming again and sorry for delay in responding but been busy! Huts 6,7,8 and 9 are dog friendly and remember Whitstable is one of the few beaches where you the your dog year round as it is a privately owned beach--by us!
thanks james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A fantastic family holiday for the whole family from little ones to grandparents. We only stayed for a long weekend, we could have stayed longer it was great fun. The beach hut was right on the beach, easy access to restaurants and easy walking into town for supplies. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nene111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
hi
Great you had a good time hope to see you again -the rates will drop dramatically in November if your interested
thanks
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Myself, my wife and my 2 children went here for a long weekend and had such a great time. These are situated on the the beach area of whitstable. We got these on a late deal but was well worth it. We had the smaller of the huts but for a short weekend away it was perfect for our need. The restaurants in the surrounding areas are all great and the fresh oysters are second to none and the costs are very reasonable to. The high street is also very good with a number of boutiques and restaurants. But in all great weekend break book early.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasonscott80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
hi
As you say the huts are really central and near the seafront-Whitstable has some interesting shops and the oysters are the best in the world!. Hope you can come again.
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent 2 nights (midweek) in hut 8 (dog friendly and 'detached' on one side which is useful as noise from adjoining huts can travel). The place is great - atmosphere, view of sea, beach and sailing dinghies - it sleeps 4 - 2 downstairs an comfy settee/beds and 2 in the prairie-like double bed upstairs. There are also large (almost too large?) plasma TVs upstairs and downstairs, as well as a small fridge upstairs. As someone else said though, as well as the noise travelling from adjacent huts (had to go next door at one point and ask for it to be kept down - politely accepted mind), the gravel can be surprisingly noisy. That said, we were really pleased we'd stayed - next visit - mid-winter in huge storm. PS - reverse into parking space!

Room Tip: All the huts are different so check out the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Augeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
hi
Great picture of your dog! I have one just like it called Boo.
Thanks for coming
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telkwa, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What a gem! Found these little fishermen's huts online and wish I had booked for a week! The weather was fabulous and we couldn't have had a better view. We were in the Anderson hut the first night and then moved to a smaller cottage. The Anderson hut nicley fit for the 4 of us and the next night with only the two of us we fit perfectly into the smaller cottage. The rooms were clean and each kitchen was well appointed. You can walk to everywhere here and we thoroughly enjoyed the live music at the Cumberland Hotel on the Friday night. Breakfast is a quick walk up the street to the main hotel. The buffet style breakfast is very well stocked and there is also a barrista on hand to make you a latte or expresso should you like. We had a hire car and parking was available for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
hi
Thanks for the review and we certainly have had some great weather this year. Hope you can come again.
ta
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We came here for a mid-week break in June, which coincided with the most amazing summer weather. We stayed in dog-friendly hut 8. The downstairs was fairly ordinary, with a shower-room, which could be a little tight, depending on the size of guest. But the main bedroom on the first floor was fantastic. Light, airy and with the most amazing view of the beach and sea. The bed was huge and comfortable - all in all great. Breakfast was in the Hotel Continental about 10 minutes walk down the road round the harbour - the weather was good so we enjoyed the walk - it might not be so lovely in the pouring rain! Breakfast is also dog-friendly - the morsel of black pudding was particularly enjoyed.

The only downside was that as the huts have gravel paths by them, and the evening was hot so the windows were open - you could clearly hear all the comings and goings after we had gone to bed. Ear plugs recommended - and also we were advised by the cleaner to reverse into the parking space as its much easier to get out the next day. And don't forget to close the shutters before getting changed in the bedroom - unless you want to flash at the people on the footpath!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
hi
Hut 8 is one of 4 dog friendly huts we have the others are 6,7, and 9. When you stay in the huts it is right in the centre of whitstable so it can be busy and the parking for the huts is directly in front of most of the huts. Huts 14, 10 and 11 are quieter as they are away from the rest but the parking is a little walk.
thanks
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
1.9 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
422 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
6.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
15.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts

Property: Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts
Address: Sea Wall, Whitstable, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These Fisherman's Huts have been tastefully converted to provide a variety of overnight accommodation, most with sea views, in a very central location ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing