We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Overpriced, was told the room numbers for our stay, but on arrival one room was very small but we had paid for a larger room; no refund or difference given or spoken about.
Breakfast was ok and served by a very pleasant young girl who made up for the rest of the staff. We had to ask for the heating to be put on as it was very cold in the rooms, this took awhile to sort out, very ungracious. This B&B, I would not call it a hotel is tired and needs a good lick of paint, freeview tv's, telephone in each room, shaving points; in fact updating.
We have stayed in many B&B's in Whitstable and have stayed in some of them more than twice but we would have to think twice about staying at the DOC again.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank voca24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

I am extremely disappointed with this B & B, (I would not describe it as a hotel) the rooms are obscenely over priced, our party had a total of 11 and we had practically booked out all the rooms. On the first day none of us were able to have a hot shower, in fact a couple had to resort to washing there hair in the basins due to the lack of water. We were all charged different rates all over £100 a night!!! I was told that I was in a ‘superior room’ which we had not booked or asked for but apparently that wasn’t relevant as we were in one. The definition of a ‘superior room’ here is one that has been decorated and has a new bathroom. As I said before the showers don’t work and the toilet was blocked!! My fiends had ants all over the bathroom, I could go on about how poor this place is but I think you get the general idea. My advice to them is to change there pricing policy as the manager said she is sick of people always complaining here and she hates her job (nice to hear). I would suggest £50 a night inc breakfast and people would be less inclined to complain at over £100 a night, we as customers expect a very good service with all facilities working, I don’t think that is too much to ask for. Please take heed of this warning before booking and also remember it is above a pub.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank JAD099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Literally one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. There were 11 of us in total staying at this hotel as part of a wedding party. We were promised discounted rates as we were booking so many rooms, only to arrive and find each of us being charged different amounts ranging from £205 to £225.50 for 2 nights. Apparantly because some of the rooms had been decorated, this meant they were 'Superior'. These superior rooms had no hot water at times (we showered too late apparantly), a blocked toilet and ant infestation. When we complained, the landlady told us that we're lucky to have got the rooms and pay the price we did, because usually it's more that this! It's above a really noisy pub, and just not very nice. If the rooms had been £50/night, I don't think it would have bothered us, but to charge these prices is criminal. The landlady said that everyone always complains, and that she hates her job. Says a lot. DON'T STAY HERE!

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank alstott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My husband and I decided on a weekend stay in Whitstable at the last minute.. After contacting various hotels who had no availability I received an email from the Duke of Cumberland that they had just had a cancellation..

I had looked at the pictures of the hotel rooms on the internet, and they didn't look very nice - I had even prepared my husband for the worse.. However, on arrival I can genuinly say that I was pleasantly surprised. The room was really nice, very clean, freshly painted and had a very comfy bed.. The ceiling above the shower was a little moldy.. but nothing too bad.

We only had breakfast at the hotel (which was included).. and again, enjoyed the food.

The staff were very pleasant.

But finally, I have to say that the location of the hotel was perfect. A minutes walk from the beach, and right in the centre of all of the shops, restaurants and bars.

I would definitely stay here again..

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Love_to_travel_1196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We visitied the Duke of Cumberland June 2010. I was surprised that the place was so shabby, Checking in with the bar staff, who were very friendly and can i say the only saving grace of the place. It is a huge building, that has been made into many hotel rooms. The premium room at £90 per night was clean enough, but the walls were that thin, we might as well had a curtain for what privacy it gave, and noise control. The first night was kept await by a very loud amorous couple and the the 2nd night a load of very rude drunks. The manager sat at the base of the stairs and her face would have cacked if she has smiled. All in all a terrible experience never to be repeated

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank netty67scouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

My boyfriend and I have just got back from a night in Whitstable where we stayed in the Duke of Cumberland Hotel. The B&B itself was fairly basic, the room was decorated pleasantly enough but it could have benefited from a fresh lick of paint, and the bathroom I'm afraid to say was not up to standard at all, the toilet was filthy and the showerhead was quite vile. Disappointing as the room was quite cosy but we both felt it was a little tired.

As it was a wet and windy night, having explored Whitstable all day (its such a lovely little town) we decided to try the restaurant in the hotel. We had had a drink in the pub section of it earlier in the day and although it was a bit shabby the staff were friendly, so we decided to try it out as the menu looked inviting.....

....needless to say the food made up for anything the room lacked, it was incredible!! To be honest neither of us had hugely high hopes and were expecting slightly fancy pub grub, we were very pleasantly surprised!

We had starters of Cauliflower soup and Mushroom & Poached Egg Bruscetta both of which were amazing, my boyfriend had Lamb Stew which was cooked so well the lamb just melted in your mouth and I had the Butternut Squash Risotto which was one of the most amazing things I've ever tasted, absolutely delicious, I ate it so slowly as I wanted to savour every mouthful!!! We then had Pecan Pie for dessert which was gorgeous. As it was a birthday treat for me we had a bottle of Sancerre which was £20 so we expected, bearing that in mind, for the bill to be fairly high, again we were pleasantly surprised when it came in at under £60!

All in all if you want to stay in a fairly basic B&B but have an amazing meal this is the place in Whitstable to be!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank lou82uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We've stayed at this pub 3 times and love it. We've always had a very comfortable room. If you're expecting 4 * in Whitstable don't stay here - you need to pay a lot more!

The breakfast is always excellent and the staff are very friendly.

Thank Janey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
473 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
1.3 mi away
Hillview
Hillview
#1 of 12 in Whitstable
207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Whitstable Bay Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel

Address: Duke of Cumberland High Street, Whitstable CT5 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range: £60 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big, bustling public house, hotel and restaurant in the centre of Whitstable, right next to Harbour Street and a stone's throw from the beach. Now incorporating Salt Marsh restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing