We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for younger guests”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for younger guests”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a friend, on arrival we had a very friendly greeting from the manager. Unfortunately, the room we were given was the only one in the hotel which had not been decorated so it was a little bit dated and needed freashening up, but the bathroom was great and all very clean. The breakfast in the monring was very nice and set us up for the day.

The Hotel is very honest about the level of noise and it is very loud until about 1am (on a Friday night) so I think I would recommend this hotel to groups of young guests, but possibly not for families or older guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    45
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
54
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,184 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Situated literally in the middle of the high street, this is a big pub with some interesting architectural features and half a dozen decent rooms. There is a comfortable decking area for eating and drinking outside, the beers are well kept and the furniture is eclectic, a collection of odd chairs and tables but none the worse for that. The rooms are clean and comfortable if in need of a little bit more attention to detail, no remote for the TV, peeling wall paper for example. Staff are friendly and the cooked breakfast was very nice. Would definately return if we were in the area but check first if they have live music in case you were hoping for a quiet night.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Was bitten all night by mites. When I complained to long haired manager mentioned in a previous cumberland review on this page I was met with outraged denial and questions in order of: do you have any bites? Turning to a bar assistant, "Have you ever heard of this? Not in two years has anyone complained." This in a crowded pub with no privacy. The man should do a customer relations course. It got worse. When we arrived he was all smiles, it was late in the evening and he assured us we could have breakfast anytime, he himself was not going to get up early. We arranged a noon checkout but when at noon I asked for "anytime" breakfast I was met with incredulous horror. "Breakfast? Now? Oh no I can't possibly do breakfast now. I have a birthday party coming in. Come back later and we will do you a snack" waving us away with his hand. Needless to say when we went back for the snack ..and what snack could compete with a full English after a late night without supper?..he was not there and none of the bar staff knew anything about it. Mites and being cheated out of breakfast after paying EIGHTY pounds for the privilege...no amount of faux Edwardian charm can cover over these cracks

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eyeinthesky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stumbled upon the Duke of Cumberland when looking for somewhere to eat in Whitstable and finding many restaurants closed (on a Thursday night - it's weird!)

The pub has a very unique feel, with a lot of character. The music art on the walls is particularly impressive.

We were VERY impressed by the amazing tapas especially as there wasn't a menu, instead "a Kelly" who had the whole thing memorised :)

We then found out they also did rooms, and as we wanted to extend our stay we booked a room. We went for the "Large double" after the manager very kindly showed us both the small and large to see which we would prefer.

The room and bathroom were beautifully spacious, we had lots of room. Bed was really comfy. We also really liked the little touches of a nice selection of teas, biscuits, bottled waters, and toiletries.

There was live music on the Friday, which we were really looking forward to. We could then still hear the music from our room afterwards, but in fairness the manager had said that several times, reassuring us it would be done by about 12:30 (which it likely was - we fell asleep before then, proof it wasnt that loud) and if we preferred the smaller (cheaper) room we would be less likely to hear it as it was higher in the building.

Breakfast was amazing, huge and cooked to order. I think we made a few people jealous as they came in asking for breakfast and had to be told the pub was closed.

The staff were amazingly friendly, and couldn't do enough for us, including the manager himself making me a sandwich for us to take with us when we left.

Great place, happily stay there again when we're in Whitstable.

Room Tip: Higher room, although smaller will be quieter if there is a night with live music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahLGoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Booked 3 double rooms for an overnight stay with friends. All rooms were nice and clean with a good character. Breakfast was amazing. Very friendly staff, and had a good chat with one of the managers.

I'll be back again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giles_littlefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

A great pub with rooms above with a brilliant view of the harbour. You can lie in bed and watch the boats coming in and going out. Food is good, hotel is clean and the staff are lovely. My only regret was that I didn't save enough space to try their home made deserts. The rooms are not that big but they are super cheap.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaN72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

The Duke of Cumberland is in a great spot in the heart of Whitstable. Room 6 has a double and a single bed and is big enough to still feel spacious. High ceiling, freshly decorated in whites and cream with large window over Harbour St and small one with a view straight down the High St. Smart Ikea furniture, tea and coffee, tv, en suite bath with shower over. All very fresh and clean and a nice firm mattress on the bed. We stayed for Saturday night and were given a key to the back door. Very good as we were attending a party in town and got back at 3am. Breakfast served 8 to 10 in the big back room with its eclectic trendy mix of odd old chairs and tables. Breakfast was excellent, my partner had the full English and they made a great vegetarian version for me which was huge. Lashings of tea kept coming. The staff are efficient and friendly. The perfect place to stay if you don't want either a hotel or a small B&B - strikes the perfect balance. Great value. Will definitely be staying again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
879 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
6.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
6.0 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel
Address: Duke of Cumberland High Street, Whitstable CT5 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big, bustling public house, hotel and restaurant in the centre of Whitstable, right next to Harbour Street and a stone's throw from the beach. Now incorporating Salt Marsh restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing