We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location and great hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great central location and great hosts”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We enjoy socialising in Whitstable for the great town, beach, pubs and resturants so we decided to stay the night so we can make the most of what this great town has to offer. We were very lucky to be able to book this Inn as it's is slap bang in the centre of town and and gets booked very quickly. Upon arrival at Whitsatble it was eary in the morning so we found somewhere to have breakfast. Having our luggage we tried on the off chance to see if we could drop of our luggage. We entered the pub and soon was greeted by the landlord we explaind that we were early and asked if we could drop off our belongings, this was not a problem at all, he even said that he would make sure our room was made ready the next, we could see straight away that this was an Inn that was run with a great laid back attitude, just right for a relaxing stay. Looking around the bar has a wonderful retro feel, from the wonderful eclectic furniture a mix of original 70s chairs and tables to old Copies of the NME, music and live bands are also played/ perform here but don't go expecting the usual run of the mill rock covers bands or horrid 60s tribute acts, what you get here is a great mix of original acts.
After a wonder round town we then went back and checked in, the room was clean, basic but offered everything you would need for a day or twos stay. We had a meal in town then went back for the evening for a few drinks, by then the pub was heaving and the atmosphere was great. As it had been a long day we went to bed and I must say the nights sleep I had was great the beds were so comfy. We went down for breakfast and was greeted again by the landlord, his laid back attitude is just great and makes you feel so at ease. The breakfast itself was just great and cooked to perfection. When we checked out the landlord recommended that if we come again try and coincide our stay when they have live music, we informed him that we had had a great time and that we would defenatly be back and stay here again.

In all the Inn is a great chilled out place and we shall look forward to staing here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humpty258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    45
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
53
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great central location, good views from our spacious dual aspect room overlooking both the High Street and Harbour Street. Very friendly and accomodating staff - no strict timings for breakfast or check out and quite possibly one of the best breakfasts I have had! Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on my next visit to Whitstable.

Room Tip: Room 6 - a large room with views over both the High Street and Harbour Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaUKUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We are going down Whitstable quite a lot but never stayed at the Duke of Cumberland. All we can say is that we were pleasantly surprised by a really large room in very good order with nice old features such an interesting old radio and a very nice coffee table. Even being on the main road, there was no noise coming from the street and after the pub shuts down it all goes magically quite. The breakfast was superb...great wild mashrooms! Tony, one of the guy managing the place, cooked us a really nice breakfast that had a nice interesting twist from the original favour just by adding on some more spice and using wild mashrooms. ...We now know where to book next time we are thinking of going to Whitstable!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Came up from London after a period of hard work and found the perfect place to relax, 30 seconds from the beach, lively bar with a friendly staff and a cracking breakfast all for a great price, wish I could get down more often.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Bit of a quirky place but a lovely room and a fantastic breakfast. The staff were friendly and chatty. It's all very laid back. We didn't even sign in and check out was pretty much whenever we pleased. The pub was heaving when the live music was on but a great atmosphere. The location couldn't be more central. In all, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessieWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had just one night in The Duke of Cumberland as we were visiting one of our favourite restaurants (Wheelers) and rather than doing the usual toss up as to who is going to drive, we decided to stay overnight. The Duke of Cumberland is one of the few places that offer just a single night accommodation. Most of the B&B's insist on a two night stay over the weekend.
On our arrival we were shown up to a lovely room. You have a key to the street, so can get in and out of your room 24 hours a day. The rooms are large and spacious, and ours was double aspect with views straight out over Whitstable high street.
This is a lively pub, but all noise ceased at 12.30 and was very quiet overnight even given its close proximity to the street outside.
We were told there was no rush down to breakfast the next day, but being rather hungover we were there by 8.30am. The breakfast, served by the owners was absolutely amazing. I'd go as far as to say that it was probably the best we have ever eaten! They make their own bacon, fantastic sausages, 2 lovely eggs served on a doorstop of home baked bread, mushrooms and baked beans. Real orange juice and real coffee! You might think I'm overdoing it a bit, but believe me, this is not your average breakfast. We also had a snack lunch the day before here before hitting the shops and their sandwiches are great as well. Just a shame it's a Shepherd Neame Pub as we would have spent longer drinking in here. A couple of real ales would make this place perfect. They have regular live music. Sometimes a bit off the wall, but always good fun.
A spit and sawdust, down to earth kind of place with eclectic vintage bits and bobs in the pub area, but with very comfortable rooms right in the heart of Whitstable and a stone's throw from the beach. Would definitely recommend and will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShaRoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just returned from 2 night stay. Room fresh and clean. Only ate breakfast at hotel which was one of the best full english we have ever had, enormous, you wont need to eat again until the evening! The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome, how refreshing. Would not hesitate to recommend and return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindseygarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
863 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
6.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel
Address: Duke of Cumberland High Street, Whitstable CT5 1AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big, bustling public house, hotel and restaurant in the centre of Whitstable, right next to Harbour Street and a stone's throw from the beach. Now incorporating Salt Marsh restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing