We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal of my life” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mucini Italian Kitchen

Mucini Italian Kitchen
Ranked #22 of 121 Restaurants in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$56
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Mucini Italian Kitchen. Set in the attractive Whitstable suburb of Tankerton, on the north east coast of Kent, Mucini is a small family-run restaurant which offers a fresh approach to traditional Italian and Mediterranean cuisine. We invite you to sit comfortably in our tastefully appointed dining room where you can experience at close hand the sights, sounds and aromas of our Sicilian chef at work in the intimate open kitchen. Seating is also available outside, should you wish to dine 'al-fresco'. Why Mucini? Dining at Mucini has been described by one visitor as 'a truly theatrical experience' in recent testimonials, whereas other satified customers have described Mucini as 'an intimate restaurant with lots of character and so different from the usual high street chains'.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worst meal of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Myself & my partner visited this restaurant on Friday night, and I can honestly say was the worst meal I've had in my life.
After eating our 'edible' starters, our mains came out 1 hour later. On first appearances the two mains (steak & veal) looked disgusting but we thought we'd give it a go.
After a few bites my partner swiftly went the the loo.
I was at the table on my own quite a while (was getting increasingly worried about my partner) by this time the waitress came over and I said we were not happy with the meals. I asked for medium and my steak was rare with the sauce slapped on top and under cooked potatoes wedges.
Once my partner returned from the toilet and I asked him what was wrong, he said thank goodness u removed the mains as I was in there gagging. He had sardines to start which looked like from a tin & a bit if salad so he just said the main tipped him overthe edge. Plus a used tapas on the floor was making him even worse.
The chef came over and apologised and started giving me a rubbish excuse for the rare steak.
In the end they charged us £40 and we left starving.
Will never ever return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Anni907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lozWhitstable, Manager at Mucini Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your meal at Mucini's. As the chef tried to explain on the night, ( which fell on deaf ears) the steak was marinated in a paprika sauce prior to cooking which made the appearance of the meat slightly pink. As for all of the food you ate, there was absolutely no problem with it. All of our food is fresh and tasty and certainly not tinned! As for the veal, which is by the way one of our best sellers, the remarks are a joke..... I must say a few of the other customers in the restaurant did have a little laugh about your comments when you left as they ate the same and said it was the best they had ever tasted. Gregg Wallis ( master chef) was in again yesterday and ate the same and thinks your comments are absurd! ( but I suppose you know food better).... Maybe you thought it would be deep fried? Your comments are offensive and rude - may I suggest you eat your steak at maybe a harvester or such like in future as I think it would be more suited..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    49
    16
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pasta at your Peril!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

After reading the effusive reviews on TripAdvisor, we sought out this small restaurant with much anticipation. After being shown to our table by the toilet (mysteriously with a sign saying "Coffee" on the door which led to all the customers' confusion) we waited for a quarter of an hour before being given our menu and a further quarter of an hour before being asked if we would like a drink (!!). After ordering, we then waited an entire HOUR before being served our meal. The waitress was apologetic and we were given a "complimentary" 5 olives on a saucer, and waited after a further remonstration with the waitress until the chef came to apologise and said their had been a mix-up and we had been forgotten. The meal consisted of a poorly executed plate of pasta with plain sauce with the same olives and my wife could have knocked this fare up for the entire room in less than 20 minutes. The icing on the cake was the incorrectly priced bill. Needless to say, we will not return to this totally amateurish operation. The waitresses were pleasant and apologetic but this and a "free" glass of wine in no way compensated for an appalling experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Privatewiddle1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A French Italian the best food combo! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I have been enjoying the food at mucini with our friends and family over the last year or so! We have never been disappointed. From the beautiful food to the impeccable service, a treat from every angle. Of course this would be expected from a French Italian owner!
The stunning, delightfully friendly staff are polite and attentive.
Worth a visit for just a taste of the sublime semifredo!

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Discovered a little gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was my first visit to this small but welcoming restaurant. Interesting menu which is a pleasant change from the large Italian chain style restaurants. Staff were very friendly and service efficient but not to the point where you felt rushed. Calves liver can be recommended as can the salmon. I didn't try any of the pasta dishes but saw some interesting dishes on other tables. Prices were reasonable for the quality of food and I would recommend this as a great restaurant for couples and small intimate meals. It has just the right ambience and my only disappointment is that I didn't discover it earlier. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Bellisima!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Have visited this restaurant quite a few times now and I have to say I have never been disappointed. The food is always top standard and fresh, the chef is always helpful, friendly and puts himself out to meet my allergy requirements. My favourite dish is the spaghetti vongole, delicious! The daily specials are also amazing and include lots of meat and fish dishes. I would recommend this little gem to anybody visiting the surrounding areas. Easy to park and super service and food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mucini Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mucini Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing