We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Club Meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marine Hotel Restaurant

The Marine Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 121 Restaurants in Whitstable
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Birthday Club Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We ate here in June and took advantage of the 2 for 1 main course offer through the Shepherd Neame Birthday Club. The setting was lovely, in full view of the seafront. Good choice of mains, I had slow roasted pork which I would recommend. My boyfriend had lamb which was equally good. For dessert I had espresso crime brûlée, which for any sweet-toothed coffee lover is heaven! All in all, good service, good food and I would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    91
    33
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hugely overpriced, very bad food experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I was shocked to receive a tiny, greasy undercooked portion of so called cheesy chips for £3.60. In addition to a flat pint of lemonade for £4.50!!

The barman was absolutely not bothered and I would not recommend eating here

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have eaten at a few Shephard and Neame hotels/restaurants and was expecting the same very average fayre, just in a different setting. Wrong. I had the lamb which was presented on and off the bone, perfectly cooked with an accompaniment of fried sweetmeets, pea puree and well cooked vegetables, Lovely presentation and good service. For desert a bread and butter pudding with a hint of ginger. I can recommend that one. All six of us were happy with our choices and I for one will be trying this restaurant again. Considering the seafront view, service and quality of food it represented very good value. Please keep it up.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BenAchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Once again the restaurant excelled with a good value for money 3 course Sunday meal, staff who attentive and very pleasant ambience not to mention the view - over the sea. Will be coming as a regular soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryOLeary_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Roast Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a lovely roast dinner here on Sunday. Nice starter of smoked salmon salad, delicious roast beef with yorkshire pud, crispy roast potatoes and nice veg, and a brownie for pud. Good value for money well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elenorrigby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marine Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Marine Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing