We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ice cream cone in town!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beach Cafe

The Beach Cafe
Ranked #18 of 121 Restaurants in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ice cream cone in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We pop over to Whitstable often for a walk by the sea. A few weeks ago we discovered the Beach Cafe,had some great food. Whilst there we noticed a queue of people waiting to buy an ice cream. We now know why!!. The best cone" 99" we have ever tasted. The quality of the ice cream is superb and lots of it to, all for only £1.20.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    41
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awkward!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This wasn't our first visit to The Beach Cafe, our first being a few months ago in the quieter season. On this occasion the cafe was busy and whilst our order was taken quickly and politely by a nice young man we had to wait rather a long time for food. When it did eventually arrive my husbands order was wrong and the lady was rather rude suggesting it was our fault...he ate it anyway! We were then party to a loud argument from the kitchen between the lady and (we found out later) her husband. Now, I like Fawlty Towers as much as the next person but really it was a bit unprofessional and we weren't the only ones made to feel slightly awkward. All in all not a bad place for breakfast and a reminder that not everyone should work with the public or in fact their spouse!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Had a big English breakfast here this morning... It took a while to come up but the waitress was very apologetic and explained they had a new chef. The food was worth the wait, quality produce and cooked well. Keep the new chef!

Helpful?
2 Thank frostie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Owner of beach cafe is terribly rude and has no idea of customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I started going to beach cafe on a regular bases as they allow dogs. Food is basic but okay, a very average place but convenient. My dog has always been allowed to sit on the chair due to back problems he has never sat on the floor. After attending beach cafe many times, one of the staff said my dog was not allowed to sit on chair. I was slightly confused and asked to speak to the owner. She stormed over with such an attitude and voiced her opinion in such an aggressive way to my shock. I could not eat the food I had ordered as I was mortified by her behaviour. If you are happy to except average food with bad attitude from the owner, then I suggest you go!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherylepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really nice, could use a little more variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The food here is always reliably good and the service friendly and laid back. My only suggestion would be to experiment a bit more, have some salads, bigger variety in sandwiches or maybe more breakfast options. Im not a huge fan of full english so the choice is a little limited for me. But overall it is enjoyable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank EvannaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Cafe also viewed

 
Whitstable, Kent
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to The Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing