We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first take away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star of Bengal

Star of Bengal
Ranked #45 of 122 Restaurants in Whitstable
Price range: US$15 - US$44
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great first take away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Ordered Duck tikka,Lamb Dansak,sag Pinner, naan and popadoms online.
The food was very nice and piping hot on arrival ordered for 18.15pm and arrived
bang on time. Will be ordering from here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 7cant2na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    47
    13
    6
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Staff were great and we sat for sometime after eating just talking which they did not seem to mind. Food was very good and the prices are very reasonable so we will certainly go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimski79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great tasting food but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I love the food here, it's fresh and unlike other Indian restaurants in whitstable the dishes don't all taste the same. The service is very good but two or three times now I've found hair in my food. I'm gutted as I really like this place but of course it has put me off returning again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delivery... Best ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

It was raining cats and dogs, so we got delivery. This restaurant remembers me as a diner even after many months of not going in (just due to Xmas etc) even over the phone, what does that say about the service? Scrummy as usual! Arrived within fifteen minutes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CherryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Par Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Been to this restaurant twice now and the food is of exceptional quality and presented very well by the owner and his staff. Will definitely be going back in the future

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star of Bengal also viewed

Whitstable, Kent
Whitstable, Kent
 
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to Star of Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing