We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely brief stay.”
Review of Hillview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillview
Ranked #1 of 12 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night, Peter was good enough to pick us up from the station and give us great advice about things to do locally.(He also gave us a lift onwards the next day!) Jane was extremely welcoming, more local insights and good, good breakfast! The gardens around the house are extremely well-kept and attractive. Absolutely can't fault the service, price, food and welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bloomers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed at Hillview with 2 friends for one night. We shared the triple room which had more than enough space and its own very clean bathroom. The accommodation is a little tricky to find, so you have to keep your eyes peeled for the driveway, but the owners are so accommodating and friendly that if you get lost upon arrival just give them a call and they will come out and find you! Once you know where it is, it’s easy.

Good location, not far from the sea-front (perhaps 1.5 miles walking distance) and due to the location means you're away from the hustle and bustle of the main town.

The property has free on-site parking and a very large garden with a games room which you are welcome to use.

The breakfast is massive and really tasty, freshly cooked and lots of variety.

All in all an excellent B&B. One I would use again if in the Whitstable area. Thank you!

Room Tip: Triple room light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the wooden cabin in the garden. We weren't sure what exactly we had signed up to! It turned out to be great. It gave us our own space and a different experience than a normal b&b. it had an electric heater and kept the heat well.
The bathroom was small as you would expect, but all was clean and in good workog order. The room also came with a fridge, microwave and kettle.
It's quite far out from whitstable town centre (approx. 1.5 miles), but was good for us as we were walking to Canterbury the next day. I can't say enough good things about the owners. Would recommend and consider going again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loz-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Being a family of four with 4 and 5 year old boys we were looking for a decent family B&B room close to Whitstable.
On calling Hillview we were most excited about being offered a lovely little wooden cabin in their garden. The cabin was fun, quaint, cosy and being it was -1 degree C in March, also very warm! Beautiful to look out into the garden and watch the birds. Comfortable beds with extra facilities in the room. Fridge, microwave, tea and coffee and tasty cookies. The boys absolutely loved staying in the cabin and it was great to have your own space with the benefit of a B&B.

Our host Jane was lovely, very friendly and accommodating, in letting us book in extra early so we could visit the town and the breakfast was excellent!
Hillview is positioned in a fantastic location, close to Whitstable and local amenities.
When we return this summer, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samanthawest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Owner is really good picked me up from station when I arrived dropped me off when I was leaving. Breakfast was fantastic also good choice of cereals and teas. We asked about evening meal and was told that was fine. Owner was very accommodating . Rooms were lovely and comfortable would highly recommend will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littleone1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed here in winter and summer really nice place owner really friendly beds comfotable linen clean on suite clean.lovely views and walks. Resturants and pubs near by are nice to food good especially sea food resturants. Would recommend to anyone and will always stat here when in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noodle1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
1.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
896 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
741 reviews
5.0 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview

Address: 82 South Street, Whitstable CT5 3EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range: £78 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillview 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hillview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing