We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fisherman's Cot

View to the Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to the Garden
Sun Deck Shower Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
View to the Garden
Sun Deck
Shower Room
Bed
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living area
Living area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Augustin...
1 review
“Great accomodation”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Frank was really welcoming and gave us a tour on arrival. The property was very spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. We also had access to a barbecue which was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The trip advisor map did not show the property in the correct location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clairekd7
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real hidden gem”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was our second stay at The Fishermans Cot and it was just as lovely as two years ago.
Jo and Frank are perfect hosts. The Cot is perfect for a family of four. The fridge even had a stock of basics including tea, coffee, milk, wine and Whitstable Bay beer. A lovely touch.
Whitstable itself is a brilliant place with amaxing seafood and plenty of cute deli's and independant
shops.
The Sportsman pub in Seasalter is worth a visit too along with The Oyster Peal.
Can't wait to stay again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“I will return .....”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed in the Cot with my dog, it was such a lovely restful place we will return as soon as we can. The little touches of comfort and care from the owners really made the Cot a joy to be in. Whitsable offers something for everyone, walking, sea, beaches, views, unique shops and cafes. The only down side was I had to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Y
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb location with excellent hosts”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 10 days staying here and had a fantastic time. The place is perfect being close to the beach and the town but still being quiet and relaxing. Our dogs loved the freedom of the big secured garden and we can not say enough wonderful things about friendly Frank and Jo were.

Would have absolutely no worries recommending the place to family and friends and look forward to paying another visit ourselves in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hgfarnham...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great cosy place to stay for a weekend with a very warm welcome.”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Upon arrival we discovered a lovely little gem of a house in a gorgeous garden setting. Not only did it make a great impression, the hosts, jo and frank, were brilliant and we found fruit, milk, wine and beer in the fridge as well as various other helpful touches when you first arrive on a trip. Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackheat...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing break, peaceful spot and very cosy.”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just back from a quick weekend visit to the Cot, and had a lovely time.

The owners collected us from the station as we arrived quite late int he evening, and dropped us back off at the station at the end of our stay as it was pouring with rain.

The Cot is really homely, we had a great visit and spent the weekend unwinding in front of the log burner. Kitchen with a hob and microwave meant we could eat in if we didn't want to go out early for breakfast.

A short walk across the golf course to get to the beach makes this peaceful location handy, it's also about 15 minutes walk into town and the nearest shops.

I'll definitely be trying to book this place again next time I'm looking for a relaxing weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and log burner
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo_Ila...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Friendly and cosy!”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Frank and his wife have been super friendly with us, driving us all the way to our friend's wedding venue in the middle of the countryside! The little cottage is cosy and very quiet. Definitely recommended!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing