We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude rude and plain rude”
Review of The Cheese Box

The Cheese Box
Ranked #3 of 42 Shopping in Whitstable
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rude rude and plain rude”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Can't fault the cheese but under the guise of 'personal service' unnecessarily lengthy wait and utter rudeness to and about the customers and 'clients'.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynNina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    2
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rude”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Entered to enquire about a cheese advertised in the window advertised at £7.50. Got sold one for £8.50 that wasn't ripe! I asked why it was £8.50 and was told take it or leave it..... I don't care!!! Not a good experience and would not return!

Helpful?
2 Thank Tomathus_Edwardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheese night!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were a hungry group of 8, and the Cheese Box did not let us down. With great wine, amazing cheese and a wonderful atmosphere, this is definitely a recommendation for a great night out in Whitstable. The staff were friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable on their cheese and happily played songs at our request (spotify) making it a really fun night out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank roobiroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great shop/deli and a lovely place for a different evening out”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

First and foremost this is a cheese shop/deli, not a bar/restaurant and therefore, I think that the fact it is small and does not let you reserve a table for the evening adds to the whole appeal. Dawn and her team are very knowledgeable and will happily let you try pretty much everything in the shop before you decide what to buy. They will give you their advice based on what you would normally choose and what you want to eat it with, advice that I think is very helpful. Yes, it's not cheap but then the prices they charge reflect the care and attention that goes into the produce they sell and I hope means that that the small producers get a reasonable price for their efforts too. The cheese bar on a Friday and Saturday night has become one of our favourite places for its quirky charm and laid back style. The reason you can buy some of the cheese in Budgen's is because they are Kentish cheeses and, is the case pretty much everywhere down here, people work hard to support local producers. Long may it last I say!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manda_and_Gaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shame about the terrible customer service”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Rip-off prices and rude owner. Several of these cheeses also available at Budgens so will buy from there in the future. No doubt the place appeals to the DFLs though

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 17Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cheese Box also viewed

 
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to The Cheese Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing