We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sightseeing base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sightseeing base”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As usual with Premier Inns staff were very helpful and friendly. Room comfortable and large. Free 30 minute wifi sufficient for emails. Good location and well based for exploring Canterbury, Cinque Ports and Kent countryside.
Good parking and excellent links to public transport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    296
    75
    18
    15
See reviews for
177
328
29
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We booked only a few weeks before Easter for Good Friday and the Saturday. The rate for a family of 4 including breakfast was great. I called beforehand to see how far from the town the hotel was and was told a 15-20 minute walk downhill. It was in fact at least that (we have children which I had mentioned when calling) and I would say safer to get a cab than trying to walk with them.
Room was as expected, no complaints.
Breakfast was (on the first day) not friendly, quite slow, inefficient and not a great overall experience. The cutlery was so dirty we had to get a complete new set for all of us (which the waitress did eventually under duress). The staff did not look like they wanted to be there and it showed in their behaviour to guests. On the second day there was a chap seating and managing the floor-breakfast was vastly improved if nothing more by his friendly manner. Cutlery was clean and a better experience overall but still seemed rather inefficient (you are seated and food orders taken in order of arrival) even if you know what cooked food you want the waitress will walk past you multiple times until its 'your turn'. I'm not sure how this would have helped in the kitchen as a majority of the food is pre cooked ready to be served. Food related moan...please dont cooked omelettes in dirty meat fat...particularly when it is put onto a plate with vegetarian sausages. Horrid.
Breakfast aside it was still a good break and we would consider staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheClanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. We asked for rooms on the upper floor, overlooking the car park rather than the road and were very pleased with the rooms we were given. Very clean, comfortable and quiet. All the staff we encountered were helpful, friendly and courteous. The adjoining restaurant was fine, the staff there were welcoming, friendly and efficient and the food was good both for breakfast and dinner. Thankfully we did not experience any of the problems outlined in other reviews, so no complaints at all. The location is ideal for visiting Canterbury via the Windcheap Park & Ride, and also for the various coastal towns in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park are quieter than those facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dt9 4nn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

a pleasant hotel albeit the showers do need sorting as it is just a drizzle which comes out of the head. Well positioned in Whitstable with very helpful staff. We had a pleasant stay and would use again if we were in that part of the country.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkathy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel reception staff very welcoming,nice room, comfortable bed and not too hot. We were only given one hand towel and could not find a shaver point, but did find some hairs in the bath!
Beefeater restaurant next door was adequate but at breakfast food not replenished very quickly and staff did not seem to take kindly to being asked for more. Admittedly it was a bank holiday weekend and they were very busy. Overall our stay was ok,but next time we visit Kent we will probably try a different Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms 18-37 in newer building very nice. Room 36 (groundfloor) overlooks car park but is at far end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here good few times. Reception staff and managers are very nice, helpful and professional. Spotlessly clean, nothing too much trouble and breakfast very very good. If you want a place a short drive out of town, cheap cab ride in Whitstable then this is the place to stay. Great nights sleep also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valsong777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Uncooked food, no crockery, frozen bread. Where to start? Hotel itself was adequate - beds comfortable, room not too hot and a good shower. BUT avoid the breakfast unless you fancy a spell in A&E. We booked for breakfast but had a 20 minute wait to be seated then a 30 minute wait for our 'cooked' breakfasts. We couldn't eat the cereals, fruit or have drinks as no crockery was available for approx 40 minutes, The few slices of bread remaining were frozen solid. The food areas were unclean and despite over an hour of service remaining there was little food left. The final insult was the boiled egg ordered for my young son which was uncooked. All food experts agree this is dangerous. The stressed restaurant manager claimed the problems were down to the absence of a member of staff but that alone couldn't have caused the chaos this restaurant had descended into. On complaining to the Premier Inn receptionist, she claimed the restaurant was nothing to do with them, despite making our breakfast bookings with them and the food bill being invoiced through Premier Inn, therefore making our contract with them (they are all part of Whitbread anyway). The reception was over-run with people making complaints so hardly surprising they were trying to pass the buck.
Awful, environmental health will be informed

Room Tip: Family room was OK, avoid restaurant unless you enjoy risk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
0.5 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Address: Thanet Way, Whitstable CT5 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the popular harbour town of Whitstable, with its fresh sea air, beaches and great fish and chips ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel Whitstable
Whitstable Premier Inn
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing