We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay near Whitstable”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Just had a two-night break with 5 women friends at this excellent hotel. Our 3 sea-view rooms had balconies and the recently refurbished rooms were of a very high standard (if slightly warm!) The staff were so friendly, breakfasts lovely, and the lunch snacks we had were very tasty. We didn't eat there in the evenings as we walked into Whitstable but the menu looked interesting.
It was a 15 minute walk from the station, through quiet residential areas, so very restful not having cars with us, and there are good bus services for the area (which suited us as Bus Pass holders! but we're young at heart!)

Room Tip: I only have experience of sea-view rooms, which were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here last minute on 23rd April en route to Luxembourg. The staff on reception were charming but didn't show us to our room , pointed out the staircase and left us to it - which is fine.
The room was very comfortable and spacious with a balcony and sea view and; despite the fact that the road was under the window, there was a wedding party in that night and the outer door of the French windows doesn't shut in room 2 (there is happily a secondary glazed door that does shut, which we left open for fresh air) we had a very comfortable, quiet and peaceful nights sleep. The room was clean, well decorated, well equipped, the bathroom the same and lots of hot water and good towels. We ate at the crab and winkle on the fish quay - very good it was too - so cannot comment on dinner.
For breakfast we had fruit, the melon was in prime condition, lovely, and cereal and ordered one eggs Benedict and one Eggs Florentine but, as they were advertised as being served on bagels which neither of us like, instead of the usual muffin we asked for them to be served on toast. Didn't happen, so what arrived was a poached egg with a bit of hollandaise and bacon and a poached egg with a bit of hollandaise and spinach in a spinach water bath, basic error - drain spinach well. Good eggs, beautifully poached, good crispy bacon, should have had bacon and poached egg. We had both had some fruit and some juice but although the young woman waiting was clearly looking for something to do, there being only four of us in the dining room, she didn't clear the table so when the man arrived at the table with the hot plates there was no where for him to put them. we cleared a space and that was it; no one came near us again so we made a little pile of breakfast dishes and had some toast. What is it about hotel toast? How come that at all but the best hotels it is soggy and limp instead of crisp? No where among the detritus to read the paper, unnecessary; basic training should say do not leave your guests sitting in a heap of their used plates and cutlery. All of this is detail - which should not detract too much from what was on the whole a very pleasant nights stay, however when push comes to shove detail makes the difference between very good and excellent. We would and I hope will go back, the position is lovely and we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsmathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A lunch was booked here in the attractively refurbished hotel for my family. On booking,we were not told we had to leave by 2p.m., having booked for 12.30 p.m., due to a function in that room. When we arrived for lunch the waiter said we had to leave by 2.30p.m. And at 2.15p.m. t he senior waitress told us, pleasantly, we should move into the bar or Orangery as the wedding party had arrived an hour early.
We asked at the end if this sort of clash would be a feature of the hotel and the answer was
unclear.

The food was mostly satisfactory,if rather unseasoned, except for the fish and chips which were dismal. Very poorly filleted, so many bones were found, and the fish was a very thin fillet. So by the time the too oily batter was removed there was little to eat.

The female staff were very helpful and friendly but the waiter took 20 minutes to get our drinks in an unbusy room.

I think much of this was due to only just openeing so there were inevitable teething troubles. We shall go back later, especially as the wine was very good!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dilly057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This used to be a very tired run down place so the refurb was very much overdue and has been done very well. Excellent sea views. Good location. Service was mixed but ok overall. Generally clean throughout except for reception which was a bit of a cluttered mess behind the counter. Surprising because it was so obvious.

The overall feel of the place is of a busy pub rather than a hotel. They make you pay for your room in advance rather than when you leave which is very unusual and must say something about their clientelle or the owners or both. Bit insulting I thought.

If you need to stay in Whitstable you could do worse but I wouldn't make a special trip.

Room Tip: Sea facing is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarryIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at this recently refurbished hotel for one night on the way to visit family. The reception staff were very welcoming and we were upgraded to a honeymoon suite, not bad really after 44yrs of marriage! The hotel is in a wonderful location. Our room had a balcony with a sea view and was clean, practical and the bed very comfortable. The room had character and had been refurbished very tastefully in keeping with the style of the building. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant when we arrived. The dishes were nicely presented and tasty. The proximity of the promenade attracted us to a quick after dinner stroll. Overall, an excellent seaside hotel. We will certainly return there for a weekend next time.

Room Tip: You must have a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CriticP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here and cannot fault it. Our room was beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable. Great location and the sea view was wonderful. The staff were friendly and efficient despite being very busy with a wedding on the day of our arrival. The food at breakfast and in the evening were lovely. The lounge and bar area were very relaxing - loved the fire. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed at the Marine with my boyfriend for two nights in April. It certainly is a lovely hotel and the room we had was first glass - lovely sea view with a balcony too. The room itself was really nice, lovely decor and a very powerful shower.

My only real critisim would be the service at breakfast - very very slow! I know that this may be due to teething problems and hopefully it will get sorted out soon.

We shall definitely return to the Marine.

Room Tip: A superior room with a balcony and sea view are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyjayne66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
483 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,217 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
18.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range: £101 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing