We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but please fix the floorboards”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Kingorry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but please fix the floorboards”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for one night in a room on the first floor, beautifully decorated and refurbished rooms and hotel. We did not eat dinner but we did enjoy breakfast even if the service was somewhat slow. The staff at reception were wonderful when we asked a few questions. Decent sleep however was out of the question with loose floorboards in the room and corridors meaning the room was not quiet until after 1am. In summary, a decent hotel that could be quite a bit better with a little work on the floorboards and better restaurant management.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    313
    81
    37
    29
See reviews for
166
482
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a great night's stay at the Marine Hotel in Whitstable. We had a lovely double room with a sea view. The room and bathroom were beautifully furnished. Great breakfast at a table in the restaurant overlooking Tankerton beach. Would certainly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JBT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed for one night with a seaview room which was definitely worth it.
The hotel has been refurbished to a really high standard, and the rooms are very clean, relaxing and comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant and were impressed with the quality of the food and polite/helpful service.
Overall, we would definitely recommend this great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyCLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelvedon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Had a great few days break, staff were very friendly, lovely breakfast, wonderful views from
bedroom. Ten minute walk into shops, bars and restaurants, but the hotel food was excellent value. Great location for walking. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mick_m155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Shepard Neame have done a fantastic job with the refurbishment , sea view room was fantastic , well decorated and well appointed .
The new reception area was a welcome improvement on the old one as was the new bar and dining area , the bar snack and breakfast we had were first rate too .
Staff were friendly and helpful , we'll be back for another stay .
Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

its the only hotel in tankerton and the price reflexs that.breakfast is always slow,for the money very average hotel.good points are it has its own car park if you can find it and theres a good chip shop near by .

Room Tip: seaveiw rooms noisy with drinkers outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank flattsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night over a weekend after exploring the coasts near Dover and visiting Canterbury in Spring 2013. As we are a family fo 5, we needed to take two rooms- one was a double and another with 3 single beds. Both rooms although on separate floors were clean, beautiful decorated and very comfortable. The views were to the carpark but nonetheless the rooms were quiet and bright. The staff were all friendly even though the hotel was busy. We arrived mid day Sunday but unfortunately the hotel restaurant was already fully booked and we could not have Sunday lunch. We did eat at nearby recommended restaurants, a short walk from the hotel. Our breakfast the next day was included in the room price and was delicious. We definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CanucksAbroad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
426 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
6.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing