We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Whitstable”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Whitstable”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I stayed just one night at the Marine Hotel and found it to be a great choice. Newly refurbished the room was very comfortable and attractive with a great view of the sea. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The full English breakfast was a great way to start the day. We would recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east allow for the unrestricted view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 136jbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    314
    81
    37
    29
See reviews for
167
483
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a party of 4 couples(seniors).We all had double rooms on the first floor with lovely sea views.Our bedroom was spacious and well appointed with an en suite shower room.Heating /ventilation was by a wall mounted A/C unit which worked well.The walk into town was 15 mnutes along a beachside path.Picturesque and easy going.Whitstable is well worth the trip.Plenty to see and do with lots of quirky shops and eateries.
The staff in the hotel could not have been more friendly or helpful.Went out of their way to make us welcome.Restaurant food at breakfast and in the evening was very good with an excellent bar and orangery.
All at a very reasonable price

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel has had a major refurbishment and has a very friendly staff. Whilst rooms are advertised as sea view our room on the second floor had very small window which had "health and safety" locks restricting opening fully. Take care when making a reservation that the room being booked is on first floor if you are at all concerned about using stairs. This is a very busy hotel which appears to be used a lot by local people and can be a bit crowded at times. The breakfast is excellent and the restaurant comfortable. Bar meals are OK but I have eaten better for the price in pubs. Couldn't fault the staff who were all very welcoming and smart. and of course the hotel is in a prime position. Whitstable High Street is a delight and within walking distance. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethjane064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and i stayed at The marine Hotel for one night in November. We were going to a 50th birthday party in Whistable and decided to stay overnight.
The hotel is very easy to find and has plenty of free parking outside plus a car park. We booked a double sea view room with a balcony, the room was really big and very well decorated it was too cold to sit outside and really rainy but nice to look at the sea out of the window.
As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcome, all the staff wee very helpful and friendly, really good to get god service like that.
We ordered room service for dinner, I had steak and chips and my husband had muscles and chips, it was very reasonable and really tasty!
The front desk ordered us a taxi to the party which cost £4.20! very cheap!!
The bed in the room was really comfy and we have a good nights sleep, we ate breakfast in the restaurant (included in the price) and it was really good such a good menu to choose from too.
We would stay happily at this lovely hotel again...

Room Tip: get a sea view room its lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sloopy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingorry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for one night in a room on the first floor, beautifully decorated and refurbished rooms and hotel. We did not eat dinner but we did enjoy breakfast even if the service was somewhat slow. The staff at reception were wonderful when we asked a few questions. Decent sleep however was out of the question with loose floorboards in the room and corridors meaning the room was not quiet until after 1am. In summary, a decent hotel that could be quite a bit better with a little work on the floorboards and better restaurant management.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a great night's stay at the Marine Hotel in Whitstable. We had a lovely double room with a sea view. The room and bathroom were beautifully furnished. Great breakfast at a table in the restaurant overlooking Tankerton beach. Would certainly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JBT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed for one night with a seaview room which was definitely worth it.
The hotel has been refurbished to a really high standard, and the rooms are very clean, relaxing and comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant and were impressed with the quality of the food and polite/helpful service.
Overall, we would definitely recommend this great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyCLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
430 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,878 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
700 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing