We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 10 out of 10 experience!”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We loved The Marine Hotel. We went for my 50th birthday and it was just perfect. Beautiful room with balcony and sea view. Charming service and superb food. We had Sunday lunch of locally produced meat and vegetables which was a delight. English breakfast was prepared with real finesse. The restaurant and bar areas are comfortable and welcoming and there is a nice garden area too. We stayed two nights in November and we will definately be going back in the summer time to make more use of the beer garden.
Parking is easy, it's close to train stations if that's your mode of transprt and it's an easy walk into the town centre. Whitstable is lovely and The Marine Hotel is the ideal place to stay. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: A room at the front with balcony and sea view...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
There are newer reviews for The Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at the Marine for l night to see in the New Year. Dinner was very good. Room lovely.Would definately stay there again.There was a Disco which was fine. Breakfast was included in our package which was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oaptraveller988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A lovely stay in a perfect Hotel in a life long loved area.
A nice walk either into Whitstable or Hernebay - great for seaside air eating drinking then running it all off! And now to meet my 200 characters we will definitely be back along with other family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amandastong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked two nights in September and having read previous reviews about the rooms overlooking the car park we requested a sea view room but unfortunately none were available. However, the room allocated was extremely spacious--the en-suite was bigger than some hotel rooms I've stayed in and despite it overlooking the car park we did not experience any noise. We booked dinner at the special rate only available on-line and were pleasantly surprised to find that this included anything from the a la carte menu. It was tremendous value. Again,the breakfast was excellent as was the coffee shop. The staff were very friendly.
The only slight drawback was the difficulty in finding a space in the car park. We arrived mid afternoon on a Sunday and because the hotel is so popular for Sunday Lunch and people linger until late afternoon the car park was full. Fortunately, after waiting a few minutes and wondering what to do, one car left and we were able to park. If we had been unable to park it would have been a problem and I think the hotel should consider having parking spaces designated for hotel residents. After the lunch diners left, the car park emptied and there was no problem. I would stay again but would avoid arriving on a Sunday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had 3 days and nights here in October. Initially we could only book for 2 nights but then a different room became available for the 3rd night which we were offered and accepted. For 2 nights had large room overlooking the sea. On 3rd night we had a large room which was well equipped for someone with mobility problems.
Food at breakfast and in bar was excellent.
Staff were courteous and helpful.
one of the best hotels that we have stayed in in UK

Room Tip: Sea facing on first floor. Big and great view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Woody528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The rooms were furnished to reflect the seaside location which made it a bit more personal.I had a great nights sleep,the bed was really comfortable.the breakfast was excellent ,the service friendly.i will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 772Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

With friends, we booked two rooms for one night in late October. The entire hotel was refurbished in early 2013 so everything is fresh and up-to-date. We thought our superior seaview rooms were great value -- comfortable, spacious, and breakfast included.

There are plenty of agreeable public spaces -- for a drink, for dinner or for breakfast. The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful.

Situated a couple of miles from Whitstable harbour, this hotel is best suited to guests who come by car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank VanDerMeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
454 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
730 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
738 reviews
6.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range: £110 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing