We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with work. The hotel is really lovely, on the sea front and a joy to stay in. My room was beautifully decorated, clean and spacious and it was nice to have real furniture instead of flatpack! The bed was big and comfy so I slept well. Although its not in the centre of Whistable, I preferred this as it was opposite the sea, quiet and its only a short walk or 2 min drive into town. Breakfast was devine with lots if fish on offer. I didn't use the bars as i was on my own but they looked good. My only slight criticism is that the shower was a bit tight (i'm a normal sized lady). The staff very really helpful and the overall attention to detail was great and i was even offered fresh milk for my room on arrival!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Janeytiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
There are newer reviews for The Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at The Marine Hotel on a last minute trip between Christmas and New Year and loved it. Our room was beautifully furnished with a sea view and a huge, comfortable bed. The bar and restaurant areas provided the perfect place to relax and wait for the rain to pass with a lovely ambience, great food and drink and friendly staff. Definitely recommended. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Applebaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Marine hotel..whitstable institution and what was a drab, dull unloved building, is now...superb! The refurb was long needed and it's now a lovely addition for socialising or business meetings. Try the food too..Incredible

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canterburyresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Booked hotel at short notice. It was nice to greeted with a big smile and a pleasant receptionist. The room was first class, very clean with everything you could wish for. All the staff meet me with a smile and welcome. Slept really well and a quiet night. Breakfast was really freshly cooked and at long last a chef who can poach eggs. The only problem I had was I wanted to stay another night, unfortunately they were fully booked (not surprised) if you are in this area I would recommend, but please book in advance.
It looks like a marked fitness centre, they don't have one sorry

Room Tip: I had a room facing away from sea, I would ask for a sea view with balcony, that really would be ext...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We loved The Marine Hotel. We went for my 50th birthday and it was just perfect. Beautiful room with balcony and sea view. Charming service and superb food. We had Sunday lunch of locally produced meat and vegetables which was a delight. English breakfast was prepared with real finesse. The restaurant and bar areas are comfortable and welcoming and there is a nice garden area too. We stayed two nights in November and we will definately be going back in the summer time to make more use of the beer garden.
Parking is easy, it's close to train stations if that's your mode of transprt and it's an easy walk into the town centre. Whitstable is lovely and The Marine Hotel is the ideal place to stay. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: A room at the front with balcony and sea view...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at the Marine for l night to see in the New Year. Dinner was very good. Room lovely.Would definately stay there again.There was a Disco which was fine. Breakfast was included in our package which was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oaptraveller988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A lovely stay in a perfect Hotel in a life long loved area.
A nice walk either into Whitstable or Hernebay - great for seaside air eating drinking then running it all off! And now to meet my 200 characters we will definitely be back along with other family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amandastong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
453 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
730 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
738 reviews
6.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range: £111 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing