We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Bit 'chainy'. Enjoyed my stay but could have been better for the money. I suspect the food isn't home made and all a bit Weatherspoons as nothing was that wow. Still there was a fabulous view and Whitstable/tankerton was very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahmowbray79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Well, it comes but once a year, and we decided to spend it here. A single night at the Marine Hotel in Tankerton.
As most of us can realise, a night away from the Kids is needed once in a while, and as it was our anniversary, so we had a night here, It was great, The food in the evening was spot on, We ate in the restaurant, as opposed to the bar, there a two menu's in use, Bar menu was a little cheaper, but the extra in price is made up of waiter service etc...
They had a golf dinner and dance on the function room, but that didn't upset us at all.
The room we had overlooked the sea, perfectly decorated and furnished. Comfy beds, Tv remote and a small balcony with table and chairs.
Breakfast just as good, all fresh food, made to order, and not buffet style that is available in some places.
It is a short (10 min) walk along the promenade to Whitstable itself, to be with a busier bar and shop culture, here its removed slightly from the centre of things, although Tankerton high street is the next road over.
Would i return you ask?? Yes, this to me is the sort of place to be a treat, and not to be regularly frequented with, keep it special, and it is a lovely place, with a roaring fire in the bar.

Room Tip: Arrive early to park in the car park, otherwise its help yourself on the sea front parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My son is getting married in Whitstable this year and we stayed at the Marine hotel in October to see if it would be a good hotel to stay in for the wedding. We were not disappointed. We had a superior sea view room with balcony. The room was beautiful, superbly decorated, crisp and clean and very spacious with lovely views of the sea - it really had the 'wow' factor when we walked in. The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was superb with lots of choice and everything cooked to order. On our return home, we immediately booked again for the wedding and have recommended it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I stayed one night. The Marine Hotel was completely refurbished in 2013 so everything is clean and new but with a traditional English ambience that feels so comfortable. We had a standard room which was fine and the bathroom new and clean. The bar is so cosy with a great selection of Shepherd Neame Kentish beers. Lots of cosy lounge space with a flame fire! Bar food was good. Staff was excellent. Car parking at the front (and back). Within walking distance to the castle, the harbour and town centre. What more could one want?

Room Tip: Standard rooms are up in the roof with lots of stairs to climb and small windows. Superior rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamaicaexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with work. The hotel is really lovely, on the sea front and a joy to stay in. My room was beautifully decorated, clean and spacious and it was nice to have real furniture instead of flatpack! The bed was big and comfy so I slept well. Although its not in the centre of Whistable, I preferred this as it was opposite the sea, quiet and its only a short walk or 2 min drive into town. Breakfast was devine with lots if fish on offer. I didn't use the bars as i was on my own but they looked good. My only slight criticism is that the shower was a bit tight (i'm a normal sized lady). The staff very really helpful and the overall attention to detail was great and i was even offered fresh milk for my room on arrival!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Janeytiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at The Marine Hotel on a last minute trip between Christmas and New Year and loved it. Our room was beautifully furnished with a sea view and a huge, comfortable bed. The bar and restaurant areas provided the perfect place to relax and wait for the rain to pass with a lovely ambience, great food and drink and friendly staff. Definitely recommended. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Applebaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Marine hotel..whitstable institution and what was a drab, dull unloved building, is now...superb! The refurb was long needed and it's now a lovely addition for socialising or business meetings. Try the food too..Incredible

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canterburyresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
463 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
743 reviews
6.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,974 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range: £102 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing