We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay, food stunning with lots of choice, staff so helpful, location perfect to eat and drink looking out to sea.

Weather you eat in the restaurant or in the bar area you will have a super time, food is lovely staff cannot do enough, never left wanting.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1Dave_B_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    315
    82
    39
    29
See reviews for
168
486
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We only stayed one night due to a hectic itinerary, but we'd like to have stayed on due to the pleasant staff and the relaxing atmosphere.
A very bright, clean feel to the place, large, airy rooms and a very comfortable bed. Wi-Fi available free (I don't normally care, but we needed it on this occasion)
Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_from_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights last week. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay the staff are so friendly and helpful. We had a room on the 2nd floor which was large and comfortable. The only fault is you cannot open the windows very far as they are held on a latch but there is an air conditioning unit in the room so the room stays cool. The food at the hotel is excellent, we ate from the bar menu both nights and the food was really good. We will be returning for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Room was lovely, huge bed, big TV, lovely decor. Balcony overlooking the sea was delightful with tea coffee and the weekend papers. Service was brilliant. Big car park. 10/15 minutes walk into delightful Whitstable with it's interesting shops and tea rooms. Great weekend get away. Dinner was delicious and breakfast even better. They give you flasks of fresh milk so you can make your teas and coffees without those awful little cartons of uht milk you get in hotels. Loved it. Will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for your flask of fresh milk. For the extra £20 the superior with balcony are a must. We did t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

had been looking to come to the Marine at Whitstable for a while- the hotel/room was spotlessly clean and we had a double overlooking the sea.It is just a short 10 minute walk into town.The breakfast was really good and the bar was very comfortable with reasonable prices. My only quirk was paying £125.00 which compared to other inns/ hotels we have stayed at is in my opinion about £15-20 pounds too high.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Had a great two night stay 4th/5th April, recently refurbished the rooms have been tastefully decorated, we had a dog friendly room a standard double town view on the top floor which was very comfortable. We went on a bed breakfast/evening meal basis no complaints here the food was great, friendly staff, what more could you want.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulann30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just had a lovely one night stay 09/10 April .Fantastic location and beautifully decorated . The restaurant manager served us dinner despite it being late , empty and being laid up for breakfast ; it was much appreciated . Only compliants as follows - i had booked a double superior with sea view and balcony so in my mind one of the better rooms but the bathroom was without bathrobes and the bed although massive was two beds pushed together , not ideal or comfortable for a romantic evening ! Will return due to Whitstable being so lovely .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
431 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,878 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
700 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing