We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had one night here and would definitely go back. The room was clean and tastefully decorated with a superb view out to sea. We only ate breakfast here which was well cooked and efficiently served despite a full dining room. The staff we encountered were friendly and attentive. What more can you ask of a hotel?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    294
    71
    30
    26
See reviews for
158
457
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a lovely and relaxing time at the Marine, the staff were welcoming and very helpful. The view from our room was amazing, definitely helped by the fine weather that we were lucky enough to experience! If you have the time I would definitely recommend a sunset walk along the beach into Whitstable. We will definitely try to come back again.

Room Tip: Room 11 was great, wonderful sea view and great balcony for an early cuppa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Beautiful situation, literally a stones throw from the beach! We had a room with sea view. Well worth the extra, it also had a nice balcony where , weather permitting we could sit out and enjoy the view. Bed was comfortable and room very nice. bathroom somewhat dark (No window and low lighting) but both it and the room itself were spotlessly clean. The food and service was variable. For the first couple of days dinner was very good indeed, unfortunately the standard deteriorated as the week went on As did the service, they were obviously very under staffed . and although the staff there was did their utmost to cope. it was getting too much for them. Breakfasts were always excellent; but also suffered from staffing problems as the week went on. I would recommend this hotel as the staff were very friendly and helpful despite the strain they were so clearly under.

Room Tip: Pay extra and chose one with sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We visited Whitstable for a late week break in April and stayed at the Marine Hotel overnight. The room was very pleasant and all the meals that we had in the hotel (light evening meal in the bar; breakfast) was very good. The staff were always extremely helpful and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the seafront cost a little more but in my view are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

A lovely hotel within short walk of Whitstable harbour. Low key but fastidious, great attention to detail.

Two very good dining rooms and lovely breakfast.

Would highly recommend.

Jim and Susan Fisher

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jameslowellfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a lovely room with sea view, with children doing cart wheels and attempting to juggle. The next morning we were treated to a run with the usual joggers in addition to those with dogs or prams. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean, the shower attachment a little wobbly. Easy parking and comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast.
The staff were very helpful and prompt to fulfill request for more decaf coffee sachets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fifi1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great hotel, fab views from the rooms at the front and very attentive staff and good food - what more could you need!!! We stayed here at Easter and everything was spot on. So good we are going back in August for a whole week and hopefully the weather will be much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lollyduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
16.6 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing