We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELL WORTH IT”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great location, 15 minutes walk from the town centre. Very comfortable room, good breakfast too. Stayed in one of the rooms with a balcony which was worth the extra cash. Bar was cosy but the sandwiches etc were average (push the boat out kitchen staff; how about TWO whole slices of salt beef instead of one?!!).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
There are newer reviews for The Marine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a super hotel which we would not hesitate to revisit just on the outskirts of Whitstable which we also plan to revisit.

The hotel is well situated with great sea views in a good location 10 minute walk from the town. It has clearly been refurbished recently and is in very good order.

We had a snack on arrival and breakfast the following morning. Service of both was superb - the young staff all get it so right! The staff may be young but they all know how to be pleasant unlike some hotels we have visited particularly on the continent.

When we booked in we were asked a question that we have never been asked before ... "Would you like some fresh milk for your room?" WOW! We were given a small vacuum flask to take to our room.

The room was spotless and the bedding immaculate. There was tea and coffee in the room and I was pleased to find decaff coffee and hot chocolate as well as biscuits. Great.
Although the tv was a bit small it had lots of freeview channels.

Immaculate shower room - shower drained v slowly with danger of overflow. The only fault we found!

Breakfast in the morning offered many hot choices (although not smoked salmon that my wife loves) However, she was satisfied with the other choices on offer. Breakfast was probably noisier and more cramped than normal as there was a table of 12 down the centre of the room following a wedding the previous evening. Despite this, service was excellent again.

Cannot fault the hotel on its cheerful, helpful and enthusiastic staff. Well done all. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room and it was delightful. Lift only goes to the first floor so anyone with stai...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I loved the view from the bedroom, the room is lovely furnished, very carefully considering the historic background, very clean and the food in the bar is very good too, the staff changed my too warm wine immediately , the wine list is very nice to, will go there again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at The Marine Hotel Whitstable last weekend with other members of our family whilst attending a family wedding in Canterbury .
The service was good and the staff polite and helpful. Hotel rooms extremely comfortable and bathroom and toilet facilities scrupulously clean.
The breakfasts and the meal in the restaurant superb.
Only one minor criticism that on the second day there were not enough tables to cater for the number of people attending for breakfast, which meant some people had to wait for breakfast, which is not entirely satisfactory.
However I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view and balcony - we had a sea view but no balcony - my son and his famil...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanKBuryStEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A relaxing and comfortable stay and wonderful surroundings. The bar and lounge area are excellent and the conservatory is also a lovely light and airy place to relax in. The hotel was refurbished in 2013 and we have stayed twice since. Highly recommend the Marine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our first visit since the refurb - what a difference! Lovely hotel but be sure to ask for the rooms at the front with the double doors, our standard sea view room only had glimpses of the sea but we changed to a back room which was large and with excellent facilities. it's a good walk into town but the bus is nearby and drops you right in the centre. Some great restaurants in Whitstable. A great place for a long weekend - we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sussextaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our family met up from all over the country to celebrate a special birthday. The Hotel is beautifully decorated throughout and the rooms were comfortable and delightfully furnished.
The food served was excellent both in the restaurant in the evening and the breakfast next morning.
The outstanding feature by far is the extremely friendly and helpful staff who did everything they could to make our brief stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
454 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
730 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
738 reviews
6.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range: £110 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing