We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely weekend with dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really lovely weekend with dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our first weekend away with our puppy and were extremely impressed with the service we received. The staff couldn't do enough to help us and even gave some extra sausages for our puppy. Our room was right at the top as we had the dog so there was a bit of lugging to do to get all the dog stuff up the stairs but two members of staff helped us so we could do it in one trip. We ate from the bar menu and the food was tasty and prompt. All in all a lovely weekend. We enjoyed it so much that we booked another stay before we left.

Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    294
    71
    30
    26
See reviews for
158
457
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had a rare opportunity for a night away to celebrate my birthday, and as it was a special occasion we looked for a nice place to eat and were recommended a popular place place at Seasalter...
I will admit to knowing the General Manager of The Marine which is why we chose it, but never the less this is a thoroughly honest reflection of our absolutely delightful night here!!
We couldn't have received a warmer welcome. Jon had arranged a bottle of something bubbly and some flowers to be left in the room, which was a wonderful surprise. They use a great local florist who we discovered in town the following day.
Every little detail was taken care of, and we were even asked on check in if we'd like some fresh milk in our room to use instead of the long life pod things, which was a refreshing and lovely thought!
Our superior sea view room was fantastic, with a balcony which even on a windy and slightly wet evening was amazing to sit out on and watch the lights from boats in the shipping channels.
Clean room, very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, and well thought out secondary glazing/ air conditioning combo as it is a seafront hotel and open to the elements!
We'd made plans to eat elsewhere so only enjoyed breakfast the next morning in their restaurant, which was great. We're not breakfast people but Jon and I both had something cooked and really enjoyed it!!
It was a really easy walk into the town along the seafront, and having turned down their kind offer of looking after all our bits until we needed to catch the train home (including the large flower arrangement which was later admired by all we passed!) we headed off to explore the lovely town of Whitstable and all of its quirky and unique little shops - definitely a place which the mother will love, so we will be back to stay at The Marine sometime very soon I should think!
It's always nice to find somewhere not a million miles from home, but far enough and nice enough to be able to switch off, thank you to all there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alipali19061981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mids UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

On arrival at the hotel I was surprised to be asked to pay for the room & newspapers upfront given that we were staying for three nights. Usually they just swipe your card at hotels. Given that I had not even seen the room at that point, it is a bit cheeky. You then pay for anything extra on departure. We had parked out front, but were informed there was parking at the back down another road. As the hotel closes at 11pm, this back entrance is the only way in after that time.

The bedroom with sea views & balcony cost £145 per night including breakfast & this is taken into account in my review. I really want to like this hotel, but there are some areas that are letting it down and need addressing.

The bedroom was excellent, TV worked, as did the wi-fi, but you do have to join up with the Cloud to get access. Fresh milk supplied for tea/coffee. Balcony was great looking out over the coast with a small table & chairs & lots of pigeon mess that they did not clean up at all whilst we were there. The road outside is busy and adding to the noise are the drinkers directly below where the outside seating is situated, so don't expect much peace.

There is an attractive, though small restaurant where breakfast & dinner can be taken as well as a coffee shop selling bagels, croissants etc. The bar and lounges are other options as well as sitting outside looking over the sea.

The staff are generally friendly, but at times appear to be overworked - not their fault! The housekeeping staff just totally ignored you as you passed them in the corridor. A 'Good Morning' would have been nice.

The biggest let down for me was the food. Breakfast consists of cheap sausages (and I normally don't mind that if they are tasty) with no flavour. Bacon no flavour. My poached egg yolk was solid. The hash brown was - well, just an insubsequent hash. No kippers one morning. Although the hot food is served to the table, it looked as though it had been sitting under a heater somewhere. The cold buffet & juices are at the end of the restaurant. The fruit was not topped up & you had to squeeze between the tables to get at this inadequate space. There really was only room for a couple of people at a time. Such a shame.

Had dinner there the first night. Sounded great on the menu, but the reality was a long way off. The crab & prawn soup was luke warm and had a gelatinous texture to it, which I did not like. The sea bass was cooked superbly, but then ruined by placing it on a brick sized piece of saffron mash and another gelatinous offering of peas floating in a leek sauce. The restaurant was not busy, although judging by the number of people at breakfast, the hotel was definitely not empty. There are no other restaurants around unless you are prepared to drive or have a long walk, so it is a pity they can't up the standard to encourage more people to eat in. They do have bar meals available, so it could be that is the place to go for a simpler dish they can't mess up.

I feel quite sad that this potentially great hotel has managed to put me off returning. The rating given is mainly for the room and location.

Room Tip: The seaview with balcony rooms are very nice as long as you don't mind the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukbusinesslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, Uk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The large wheelchair accessible room was available so I quickly booked three nights for our first visit to the area.

A great location on the Parade and a 20 odd minute walk into Whitstable. The price included an excellent breakfast choice which we took advantage of and also had dinner one evening which was equally good.
The staff were all very pleasant and approachable and contributed to a relaxing stay.

The air conditioning was a bit strange. We had a warm first night and it seems the output temperature can also be controlled from another staff accessed panel. After said adjustment, the problem was solved.

We loved the area and especially the hotel. We will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank chrismk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We only stayed one night but had an excellent room overlooking the sea. Also had breakfast lunch and dinner, all of which were excellent. Would not hesitate to stay here again. The beer was good too! Great location for exploring Whitstable and surrounding area. We had a lovely walk along the coast to Herne Bay and came back by bus.

Room Tip: Sea view worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bbunn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel has really got it right, very charateristic , lovely rooms facing the sea, friendly staff, great breakfast and very good prices, can be bus weekend evenings depending on what's going on in the hotel so staff need to make sure late bight revellers leave quitely

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oysterdate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, 15 minutes walk from the town centre. Very comfortable room, good breakfast too. Stayed in one of the rooms with a balcony which was worth the extra cash. Bar was cosy but the sandwiches etc were average (push the boat out kitchen staff; how about TWO whole slices of salt beef instead of one?!!).

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
16.6 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing