We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay.”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We booked in here for a night on our way back from Dover and were very impressed. A lovely hotel, very helpful friendly staff; we had arrived too early to check in, but they let us leave the car in the car park while we walked along the front into Whitstable to build up an appetite for lunch! We returned and really enjoyed a bar meal. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and nice comfy bed - it was on the second floor, though, so lots of stairs up and down. Decided to eat in the bar again in the evening, excellent fish and chips. The waiting staff were very friendly and helpful and service was prompt. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and seemed freshly cooked to order. Would definitely return if we were in this area again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cubagirlNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Marine at Tankerton, Whitstable has been well refurbished and the rooms are modern, chic and comfortable...go for a sea view, the hotel sits right by the pebble beach. When checking in it's great to be offered a little flask of fresh milk for your room; NOT good to be ordered to pay for the room in advance, before even seeing it! This practice seems to be creeping in, in the UK, I have never come across it elsewhere, nor in top hotels....it makes one uncomfortable; do they think their customers will do a runner in the night?!

The shower room was modern and clean, but shower very small and not great water pressure; I would have liked to have a bath too. I chose to eat in the bar and felt that, as a lone female, I was practically ignored...... And rusher through my meal so fast that it did not feel like going out for dinner! The young male staff chatted two at a time to other guests whilst I waited with an empty glass before having to request a drink from one of the, while they were still just chatting with other guests..not good...

The rooms are the best part of the hotel, very comfortable, modern and clean.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank betseybooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Within easy walking distance of Whitstable town centre, castle and harbour or if you want a longer stroll its about 4 miles along the coastline to Herne Bay. The hotel itself was excellent, our room was very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. There are great sea views across Tankerton Slopes from the restaurant. We didn't take dinner there but breakfast was plentiful and well presented, a nice range of buffet style foods along with some very good choices if a cooked breakfast is more your thing. The bar was lively and meals were also available in the Orangery. Every member of staff that we encountered were polite and helpful. A nice little touch was that we were given a small flask of fresh milk for our tea/coffee on checking in at reception.
The only negative thing is that parking is somewhat limited about 30 spaces at the rear of the hotel and 4 or 5 on the front, although there is free parking outside on the road but you have to be fairly early to beat the day trippers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Its been a few years since our last visit to The Marine and the refurbishment is wonderful. Our rooms were well appointed and the beds very comfortable. The issue with The Marine is the staff, one of the woman on reception was straight out of Fawlty Towers central casting! There were some good ones, the bar ladies were very nice.

Our brekkie was baaaad!!! Don't go for it, go to one of the lovely cafes in Tankerton. Also our table was not cleared, we had to keep asking for top ups or extra butter etc as we were not given enough for our party.

Check out we once again had a different but equally indifferent receptionist - gossiping with your pals in front of paying guests is very disappointing.

This said we may go back, the view is excellent the rooms were great, we just wont eat there and will gird our loins for the receptionists!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyS_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I spent one night here on the way to visit friends in Kent. It was our tenth anniversary celebration andthe first time I'd visited Whitstable for many years. The Marine, owned by Shepherd Name Brewery, has recently undergone major refurbishment and the rooms are now light, airy and modern while retaining a cosy, classic feel to them.
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal in the hotel's restaurant and I thought breakfast, next morning, was one of the best I've had, recently.
All the staff were friendly and polite. My wife had a long chat with the manager and came away impressed by his knowledge of the trade and local area.
I would certainly stay here again if we were in this neck of the woods.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel occupies an excellent position just to the east of Whitstable. We booked at short notice and got a rate that made this very good value. The room was spacious, clean and well furnished; the bed comfortable. An excellent dinner in the restaurant - some real cooking going on, the pork belly was superb. What made the stay was the attitude of the staff - nothing was to much trouble. All in all a great stay. Thanks

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are at a premium, but the view from the back of the hotel is perfectly acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dwoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We held a family reunion at the hotel over 2 days. In all we had 40 or so family members visit for the main function and 20 plus stayed for 1 to 2 nights. The rooms were all excellently appointed and spotlessly clean. They were spacious, well designed/equiped and a real pleasure to stay in. The food in both the bar and restaurant was excellent! Our function was organised, catered and managed with faultless care. But the main thing that made our stayperfect was the FANTASTIC STAFF at this hotel who provided service of a fantastic standard. If you need to stay in the Whitstable area then I cannot recommend this place enough - I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room if you can - of which there are several. All light and spacious - room 9 is a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
474 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,017 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range: £102 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing