We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch out overlooking the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice lunch out overlooking the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had a family meal here in late June sat outside admiring the sea view. Table top service dreadful but if you order at the bar the menu is varied and food quick to table. Perhaps a little overpriced but the food was good quality and the view worth it. Table waiting staff could do with better training in good customer service and it would be better. Interior however is very pleasant. Parking to rear but disabled access from front of building is a major issue as there are steps only so if you are on a walking frame it's a problem as it's a way to walk from front to disabled access and signage could be better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    295
    71
    30
    26
See reviews for
158
458
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Fabulous. I have waited 9 years for a decent hotel to open in Whitstable. This is it. Accommodation fantastic, sea view, lovely common areas restaurant, bar etc. Lovely staff and parking at the rear. Breakfast very good and just had a lovely, warm, clean and welcoming atmosphere.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a sea view rather than the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyjmsamuels46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We booked in here for a night on our way back from Dover and were very impressed. A lovely hotel, very helpful friendly staff; we had arrived too early to check in, but they let us leave the car in the car park while we walked along the front into Whitstable to build up an appetite for lunch! We returned and really enjoyed a bar meal. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and nice comfy bed - it was on the second floor, though, so lots of stairs up and down. Decided to eat in the bar again in the evening, excellent fish and chips. The waiting staff were very friendly and helpful and service was prompt. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and seemed freshly cooked to order. Would definitely return if we were in this area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubagirlNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The Marine at Tankerton, Whitstable has been well refurbished and the rooms are modern, chic and comfortable...go for a sea view, the hotel sits right by the pebble beach. When checking in it's great to be offered a little flask of fresh milk for your room; NOT good to be ordered to pay for the room in advance, before even seeing it! This practice seems to be creeping in, in the UK, I have never come across it elsewhere, nor in top hotels....it makes one uncomfortable; do they think their customers will do a runner in the night?!

The shower room was modern and clean, but shower very small and not great water pressure; I would have liked to have a bath too. I chose to eat in the bar and felt that, as a lone female, I was practically ignored...... And rusher through my meal so fast that it did not feel like going out for dinner! The young male staff chatted two at a time to other guests whilst I waited with an empty glass before having to request a drink from one of the, while they were still just chatting with other guests..not good...

The rooms are the best part of the hotel, very comfortable, modern and clean.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank betseybooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Within easy walking distance of Whitstable town centre, castle and harbour or if you want a longer stroll its about 4 miles along the coastline to Herne Bay. The hotel itself was excellent, our room was very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. There are great sea views across Tankerton Slopes from the restaurant. We didn't take dinner there but breakfast was plentiful and well presented, a nice range of buffet style foods along with some very good choices if a cooked breakfast is more your thing. The bar was lively and meals were also available in the Orangery. Every member of staff that we encountered were polite and helpful. A nice little touch was that we were given a small flask of fresh milk for our tea/coffee on checking in at reception.
The only negative thing is that parking is somewhat limited about 30 spaces at the rear of the hotel and 4 or 5 on the front, although there is free parking outside on the road but you have to be fairly early to beat the day trippers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Its been a few years since our last visit to The Marine and the refurbishment is wonderful. Our rooms were well appointed and the beds very comfortable. The issue with The Marine is the staff, one of the woman on reception was straight out of Fawlty Towers central casting! There were some good ones, the bar ladies were very nice.

Our brekkie was baaaad!!! Don't go for it, go to one of the lovely cafes in Tankerton. Also our table was not cleared, we had to keep asking for top ups or extra butter etc as we were not given enough for our party.

Check out we once again had a different but equally indifferent receptionist - gossiping with your pals in front of paying guests is very disappointing.

This said we may go back, the view is excellent the rooms were great, we just wont eat there and will gird our loins for the receptionists!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyS_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I spent one night here on the way to visit friends in Kent. It was our tenth anniversary celebration andthe first time I'd visited Whitstable for many years. The Marine, owned by Shepherd Name Brewery, has recently undergone major refurbishment and the rooms are now light, airy and modern while retaining a cosy, classic feel to them.
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal in the hotel's restaurant and I thought breakfast, next morning, was one of the best I've had, recently.
All the staff were friendly and polite. My wife had a long chat with the manager and came away impressed by his knowledge of the trade and local area.
I would certainly stay here again if we were in this neck of the woods.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
16.6 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing