We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing hotel with a lovely walk in to Whitstable.”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A relaxing hotel with a lovely walk in to Whitstable.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Brilliant stay, brilliant staff, would stay again..... Loved it, loved it.
Great hotel, loved the coffee station, we had Sunday lunch in just one of the dining areas. This hotel offers lots of options and the staff were on hand to help.
Only a small negative the rooms in the eves have a small window.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasider050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    303
    74
    32
    26
See reviews for
161
466
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed on Sunday night, the whole hotel had a lovely feel, staff were helpful and pleasant. Our room was lovely, think recently decorated, bed linen was new and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again and hopefully for longer next time.

Room Tip: Our room was a town view, ask for a sea view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just had an amazing night stay here :) Enjoyed the lovely sea view & the air con in the room gave us a pleasant nights sleep. Evening meal and breakfast (eggs benedict - yum) were perfect. Couldn't fault the staff at all. Can't wait to come back for another restful break :)

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAdams67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We four stayed one night. The rooms were well appointed, clean and pleasant. We had a very comfortable large double bed.

Breakfast was a disappointment as two of us ordered kippers, one was perfectly cooked and succulent, the other one was very dried out and had obviously been kept waiting in a hot place for a long time before being served. My porridge was inedible as it was gritty, undercooked, and very dry rather like drying sand in texture. I left the whole bowl,yet no-one enquired why.

I would recommend anyone staying here to breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: We booked rooms at the front overlooking the sea. Well worth doing as you can sit on the balcony wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleIbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We were only able to stay one evening but wished it was longer!! Hotel offers good value for money - our superior twin room with balcony overlooking the sea was perfect. Breakfast was great with a wide variety of fruit, ham and cheese and a wide selection of cooked breakfasts. Lunch on the terrace was equally good. Little touches were noticed - our case vanished to our room without prompting and we were offered fresh milk for the room.

All staff inc chamber maids, bar, restaurant and reception helped create a great atmosphere.

Nice to see investment in staff training and not just investment in the premises!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RowntreeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The decision to extend our stay in Whitstable (for a friend's birthday party on Saturday) to Friday night as well was a great move. We had walked past this hotel on previous day trips and I am so pleased that we remembered it. We had a sea view double with balcony from which we watched the world go by and witnessed nature's speculator thunderstorm on Friday evening. The bed was enormous and desperately comfortable, so much so that I had to have a siesta on Saturday afternoon something I never usually do). Breakfasts are AMAZING - freshly cooked to your own tastes. Only small niggle was returning with friends at five to midnight on Saturday after carousing in town we were refused a final night cap (rules is rules) and that was a shame. Service generally was SUPERB. Thoroughly recommended and a great base to discover Whitstable which is a lovely town full of really marvelous independent shops.

Room Tip: Go for sea view - definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have stayed in the hotel twice now but only had an evening meal once - the food I wouldnt recommend ,its tasteless ,small potions and not value for money.
Dont go there hungry . We waited quite some time and the service wasnt good .The waiter needed to add character and pleasent ness it doesnt cost anything- he cleary wasnt happy in his work.
Rooms are spotlessly clean and if in a front room the view is amazing .
Breakfast was Ok but again food needs to be addressed as huge room for improvement

Room Tip: Ask for seafront facing. there is a lift but still a few stair to be considered if elderly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAL112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel
16.6 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing