We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marine Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Crescent Turner Hotel(Whitstable)(Great Value!)
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel(Whitstable)(Great Value!)
US$121
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Herne Bay Hotel(Herne Bay)(Great Value!)
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pilgrims Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$180
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cathedral Gate Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Continental(Whitstable)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (948)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
437
343
94
42
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
343
94
42
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewshepherd neamelovely hotelbar menutankerton slopesbalcony roomsea frontwedding receptionwedding partyeggs benedictfresh milkfirst floorcar parkkippershigh standardfull englishstayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We only stayed for one night..., wish it could've been at least two! I had a bad cold unfortunately so we were pretty much confined to our room. But what a room! What a view! Everything was beautifully presented and very clean. We thoroughly enjoyed room service - it was wonderful watching the sun set while enjoying our meal on the balcony and also the next day having breakfast in the sunshine! The staff are most attentive and lovely too! I highly recommend this fabulous hotel with one of the best sea views in Kent! Thanks again, we'll be back soon! Gail & Ed Muschamp xox

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muschamp00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent three days here and cannot speak too highly of the staff, who are led from the front by their manager Kate. It was great to see a real team doing their best to make their guests welcome.

A most welcoming and comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony overlooking the estuary are the best because of the view. The other rooms are also beautifully designed and decorated. The interior designer has done good job throughout the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I first reviewed The Marine Hotel soon after its renovation, enthusing then about the stylish, sophisticated appearance of the hotel and the quality of food and service. Since its re-opening I have returned many times, most often for snacks, or a bar meal coffee or drinks, but I have now experienced the elegance of the dining room, both in its décor and the food, which was beautifully presented and delicious. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. I had read reviews about the slow service in the restaurant but I have to say that I have never experienced that problem. I feel sure that, should a customer feel unhappy, the grievance should be mentioned immediately to the manager and that would be rectified, as I know that the quality of service is taken very seriously. It is clearly an increasingly popular venue. The rooms are still beautiful and the public areas are attractive and spotless. Naturally, though, the more popular the bar becomes the longer you may have to wait to be served, although I have never found that too much of a problem. Do spoil yourself and make a visit.

Room Tip: Obviously the superior rooms with sea view are recommended, especially those with balconies, but all rooms are attractive. Rooms at the back do overlook the car park so don't expect an appealing view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank juliet45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Although there is access for less physically able guests, and there is a lift, there are a lot of steps and stairs in this hotel. That said, it's an attractive, interesting building, clean and well-decorated throughout.
It's well worth paying for a balcony room, as the sea views are fabulous.

The hotel was easy to find, but parking can be a bit of a challenge. Driving along the cliff top from the Whitstable direction, take the right turn immediately before the hotel, then left along a narrow path between the tennis courts (yes, honestly!). The car park is a couple of hundred yards on the left, but it gets full at lunchtime and it's not possible to reserve a space. We double parked to unload. There are a few spaces at the front of the hotel and free on-road parking as well; as it's on the seafront they also get taken quickly, but in the early morning and from late afternoon onwards it wasn't a problem.

Our room was lovely; spacious and very comfortable, with a light, airy feel. Sadly, though, the internal bathroom, although perfectly functional and well-decorated, was dark and hot, despite the excellent aircon in the bedroom. I suspect the temperature was due to the heated towel rail, which I couldn't find a way to turn off. The room next door had a different layout; their bathroom had a window, so was much more pleasant.
There were no ironing facilities in the room, but these were brought quickly when requested from Reception.

When checking in, we were offered a flask of fresh milk for the room, which I thought was a nice touch. We had lunch, dinner and two (freshly-cooked to order) breakfasts at the hotel, and all the meals were very good.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and plan to return.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms with sea view are worth paying for, but ask for a bathroom with a window as well. If steps are problem for you, check when booking that there's level access to your room from the lift.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just retuned from staying at this excellent hotel. We stayed in the Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View. Decorated lovely and exceptionally clean. We had our 12 week old baby with us and the staff couldn't do enough for us, making our stay even more special for our first time away with him. The staff were so friendly, polite and lovely and made us feel very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. We will definitely return and would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Heaphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews