We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a large family get together.”
other travellers have booked this property
On the top deck at Shell Ness
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
On the top deck at Shell Ness
Off street parking for 2-3 cars and on-street parking space in surrounding roads Comfortable living space, TV, Blue Ray / CD player and WiFi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
On the top deck at Shell Ness
Off street parking for 2-3 cars and on-street parking space in surrounding roads
Comfortable living space, TV, Blue Ray / CD player and WiFi
Recent renovation of kitchen
Large dining table for 12, full length windows with beach views from the first floor.
The modern kitchen or the BBQ, what a dilemma?
Spectacular sunsets seen from the comfort of the living room sofas!
Dine inside or out!
Another sunset from the terrace
Secure garden, with sun loungers on the vast deck
King-size bedroom with sea view and access to private deck
Downstairs en suite shower room
Master bedroom with Superking bed
Second King sized bed
Ground floor room with two single beds and a bunk bed, all with deck access and sea views
Third (family) bathroom suite with modern bath/shower & toilet
2 single beds, can be joined to make one larger bed, double aspect sea views.
Looking East with tide out
A Summer's day on the local beach
Beach path from Whitstable.
Popular local oyster bar
Sample the fresh local oysters along the Whitstable beach
Happy guests
Some more happy guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large family get together.”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This house was a perfect venue for our family of 11 to gather in Whitstable to celebrate my daughter's wedding at the Artist's Beach House. The wedding was wonderful, but the whole stay was greatly enhanced by our accommodation at Shell Ness. The bedrooms were perfectly arranged for our family, with four cousins aged 8, 5, 5 and 2 all in together (lots of giggling and fun!) and adults all suitably and comfortably accommodated. The master bedroom suite is amazing: comfy bed and so much space! The kitchen is very well furnished with every item you could need to feed the family, and even spare fridge space if required. The dining/sitting area is comfy with plenty of room for eating and relaxing, but the really big bonus is the terrace leading out from the dining/sitting room. This is provided with chairs and sofas perfect for sitting out in the evening to enjoy the ever changing views of the sea, but most especially the fantastic sunsets for which Whitstable is justly famous.

We all had a wonderful time at Shell Ness, and when next we have a whole family holiday we will very seriously consider returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for taking the time to write this review. The setup is designed for families to get together and we do hope you consider staying again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia C
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A party of ten friends stayed for the weekend. As we stepped inside the rental, we were in awe of how lovely the place was. The bedrooms was spacious the living room, kitchen diner was modern.
We chose the hottest weekend and we enjoyed sunbathing on the patio that overlooked the beach, which we walked along.
We strolled into the centre of Whitstable, stopping at various shops to browse.
There are local buses to use but we chose to walk. We did however take a taxi to go a little further for dinner. There was no long waiting time.
Would definitely recommend and return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was kind to you. PH & SH ( owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elaine P
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Early family holiday for 60th birthday”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely spacious house, beautiful views. Sunsets were perfect just as our holiday at Shell Ness. Not too far to walk into town, although much quicker along the beach. Really friendly great pub within few minutes walk with lovely home cooked food. Although everything you could need to cook your own is in the house. Would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Thanks for your positive comments, you'd be very welcome to stay again.
Kind Regards phil & sarah ( owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan c
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow !”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were 9 ladies celebrating a 'hen do' and what an amazing house we found. A beautiful modern property with everything we needed, we particularly enjoyed the balcony and of course the spectacular sunsets. Great spot for a beach stroll into Whitstable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrailBlaz...
1 review
“Thanks for having us Shell Ness, we hope to see you again next year!”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Every year a group of 12 friends get together for a long weekend in the north Kent area, and this year we choose to stay at Shell Ness in Whitstable. On arrival, we were very pleased with the house, it was large, modern and clean, with plenty of space and utensils for the 12 of us.

The view from the balcony is incredibly, exactly like the pictures, especially as you get to see Whitstable's famous sunsets across the estuary. And it also comes with a gas run barbecue, which we definitely made use of.

It is roughly a 20 minute walk along the beach into Whitstable, which was perfect for us, it was private enough that we weren't always being overlooked by passers by, but close enough to enjoy the nice stroll along the beach.

The check-in and check-out were very smooth, and generally, I can't think of a single negative thing to say.

Thanks for having us Shell Ness, we hope to see you again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing on the balcony, taking in the view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Shell Ness and those incredible sunsets. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay, we have been reviewing the kitchen saucepans and will be replacing them soon and will add some larger pans. Thank you for the feedback Phil & Sarah (owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing