We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection!”

Review of Kiora

Stunning beach location and extensive sea views. Photos by Chris Sowe
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning beach location and extensive sea views. Photos by Chris Sowe
Stunning views of the Street, the shingle spit that magically appears at low tide Enjoy alfresco dining with sea views on the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Stunning beach location and extensive sea views. Photos by Chris Sowe
Stunning views of the Street, the shingle spit that magically appears at low tide
Enjoy alfresco dining with sea views on the terrace
Charming book lined dining room
Traditional and fully equipped kitchen
Enjoy the comfy sofas and open fire in the cosy lounge with its very own Baby Grand piano
The spacious west bedroom with extensive sea views
The spacious east bedroom with extensive sea views
Twin room with a view
Downstairs double bedroom with garden view
Secluded garden terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sightsee5...
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We spent a wonderful New Year at Kiora, enjoying the beautiful sea views and walks along the beach. The house was a prefect cosy haven after days out in Margate and Canterbury. Open fires in all downstairs rooms were set and ready for our arrival and were so lovely to have at that time of year.
Jez was incredibly accommodating and exceeded all our expectations in providing a bounty of treats that really made this stay truly special.
Whitstable had several great restaurants within walking distance but the house was so well equipped there was no excuse not to cook.
Every possible detail has been considered by the kind and friendly host.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2018
I am so pleased you had a wonderful New Year at Kiora. It really is a very special place indeed and Jez is the perfect host. We do hope to see you again. Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous sea front home”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed a week after daughter 's wedding. 5 adults and 1 toddler. Excellent location for frequent trips to the sea literally on the doorstep. Grandson loved filling bucket with pebbles and didn't miss sand at all. In fact it was a lot less messy! Easy flat walks. Lots of runners and cyclists along the path in front but not a problem. Bikes available to use. If you forget to bring something don't worry this house will have it!
Equipped with everything you need . We didn't find a dustpan but didn't look too hard!
This house feels like a home. It's spacious but cosy .Real fires. Plenty of candles. Piano!Comfy sofas and beds. Some uneven floors add to the charm ( no it's not that 3rd glass of wine) The bathroom is small but with an extra loo and sinks in the bedrooms this wasn't the problem we had anticipated.The downstairs bedroom is dark but a bit of pruning of shrubbery would allow a sea view. Likewise when sitting on the sofas the view would be greatly improved if the hedge and rose bush was cut lower. Views from upstairs are fabulous.Welcome flowers and wine ,fresh milk for that first cuppa and even homemade cake when we arrived. Jez met us and showed us round. Even laid a fire ! And offered a wedding car in case it rained and we couldn't walk to the venue. Really amazing service!
We had a wonderful visit and Kiora was even more than we hoped for. My daughter and bridesmaids got ready for the wedding there instead of in her bland hotel room and we all walked along the seafront in the sunshine. Perfect! Hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
HI Jan
I am thrilled you all had a wonderful stay at Kiora and your daughter could enjoy this beautiful house on her special day. The house is very special and 'The Street' beach is a magical place. Look forward to seeing you again one day. Gail, Whitstable Holiday Homes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayre...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous house by the sea”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Kiora is the most amazing place. We walked from whitstable station and found kiora nestling in amongst the trees with idyllic sea views from the beautiful garden. From the moment we weary travellers arrived (four young adults, two stressed out parents and an old plodding dog) we were treated like old friends by the lovely Jez who greeted us with cake and wine! The house is spectacular. It's infused with the rhythm of the sea and you start to relax, breathe deeply and tap in to the calming ambience that kiora evokes. There is nothing you could want for that Jez hasn't provided. Every utensil a kitchen requires, fresh flowers, fruit, candles, beach towels, bikes, deckchairs. And, wait for it, a baby grand piano! Whitstable town is a gentle stroll away. Full of interesting shops, quaint pubs, a wonderful gin bar and plenty of restaurants. It's lovely to sit outside The Neptune and watch the sun go down. I don't think there is ever a bad sunset in Whitstable! I can't recommend Kiora highly enough. It's an enchanting house and garden. We felt so rejuvenated by the end of our stay. I can't wait to return next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyWendy...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Increditable location, wonderful facilities, made this a perfect familly holiday.”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Kiora is a 1900's detached house which has been lovingly cared for to create a perfect secluded family holiday home, only a few yards from the beach. The garden with its own tables and chairs is a private haven, not overlooked but with views out over the sea and ideal for outside meals and relaxation.

The property is fully stocked with every conceivable item you might need for your stay and the owner Jez is always available to give any help or advice you might need. His parents renovated the property as their family home many years ago and his love of the building and its location is very clear to see. Our group of 6 adults and 2 children under 8, have never had such a perfect family holiday week before. The cars never left the private garage and parking space because there was so much to do and enjoy and all within walking distance. Granddad was even seen riding one of the bikes that are kept in the summer house, along the promenade. His first ride for 50 years!

We will be returning to enjoy Kiora, its beech, the local restaurants, the small independent shops, bike rides, cricket matches on the prom, crab fishing and many other attractions. Thank you Jez.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianaelbo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Most wonderful home from home right by the sea!”
Reviewed 12 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful week in Kiora at the beginning of April. Everything about our stay was perfect, actually more than perfect, it was special!

The environment was unbelievable – step out of the gate, over the little promenade and you’re on the shingle beach. Tankerton shops were within a few minutes walk, and Whitstable itself is only 10 minutes stroll away. But the location is just a part of why we loved our stay so much.

The house itself is stunning; a lovely country style kitchen full of quirky details - like the beautiful fun cat tiles and rustic pots on display above the wood burner. There is a table in the kitchen, as well as a dining room with gorgeous sea views and a bookcase filled with interesting books to read. Not to mention the comfy sitting room with grand piano, another log fire ready laid, more amazing sea views, and access to the beautiful garden which felt like a secret paradise - honestly you have to see it to believe it! There is a bedroom downstairs, a bathroom and another separate toilet. Then upstairs there are three more bedrooms with wonderful views of the sea and the sunsets.

But what made it extra special (as if that wasn’t special enough) was the real home-from-home feeling – the style and attention to detail throughout the house was spot on - kitchen cupboard fully stocked (with herbs, spices, tea, coffee, and lots of other goodies) - extra touches like fresh flowers in beautiful vases, fruit in the fruit bowl, wine in the fridge – the porch had everything we could want for a day on the beach - and we had such a warm welcome from the owner, Jezz - even bringing a homemade cake!

It felt like home away from home (only much nicer!) and can’t praise it enough - we’ll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Dear Diana, I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Kiora. It really is one of Whitstable's gems in a beautiful and unique location and as you say, its an incredibly special beachfront home. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Gail, Whitstable Holiday Homes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc T
1 review
“Beautiful house in a stunning location”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Stayed at Kiora for my 50th birthday with a group of friends in March 17 and had a really lovely time. Kiora is a charming, spacious, comfortable period house which is full of character with a stunning beachfront view of Tankerton beach in Whitstable. The house is clean and tastefully decorated throughout and has a very well equipped kitchen if you want to self cater. As well as overlooking the beach the house is surrounded by a beautiful enclosed garden with a private terrace which must be amazing in the summer but during chilly March we made use of the log fire which kept us warm and cozy after long walks on the beach. The owner Jez was really friendly and helpful and made sure we were well looked after. Would definitely book the property again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house by the sea”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Kiora for a long weekend in October. The house is wonderful, and amazing views of the beach and a step away from the sea. It's ideal for walking into Whitstable to the many restaurants and shops. We enjoyed spending time by the open fire watching the waves come in. Our kids loved the big toy cupboard. We will definitely go back!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing