We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect base to enjoy Whitstable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oyster Bed Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nathaniel...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The perfect base to enjoy Whitstable”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The house is large and very comfortable, couldn't be in a better location for sea, high street, a night out or a quiet lay in. Jodie was lovely and made sure our stay was perfect. Very clean and well appointed, a huge bonus to have secure parking.

The only two quibbles are so minor they've not affected my rating. The first is that I wished I'd looked more closely at the check-in / check-out times, they are much later / earlier than standard. Fortunately Jodie allowed us some flexibility, otherwise our early morning Sunday departure would have been a rough one. The other is that the shower taps are extremely diffucult to use, a terrible design - though the showers themselves were as hot and strong as you like (once you managed with the help of a dry towel and two hands to turn them on).

I hope we can stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2018
Brilliant guest, always welcome back to stay at Oyster Bed Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey F
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had originally booked to stay for Christmas week, so that we could get all the family together after 2 years Christmassing abroad. However due to ill health we needed to change our plans at the last minute.
We had a great family Christmas, just a week early, and Jodie couldn't have been more helpful with the change.
The cottage was well enough equipped to cook a full Christmas dinner for 8 people. It is very well furnished and enough TVs so there's no arguing over what to watch! We were very comfortable here and it really was a home from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2016
Wonderful guest, would not hesitate to have stay at Oyster Bed Cottage again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateE735
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

My family and I stayed at Oyster Bed Cottage in December 2016 for a family wedding in Whitstable. We were all very impressed by the cottage which was extremely clean and comfortable. We couldn't have asked for better service from the owner who made it a home away from home. We would highly recommend Oyster Bed Cottage to anyone who is looking to stay in the area, and will certainly love to come back if we were to visit Whitstable in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2016
Excellent guest. Is more than welcome to stay at Oyster Bed Cottage any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna I
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Close to town centre/beach”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to stay and not use your car again in Whitstable then this house for you. You can walk to the shops on the high street in under a minuet and the beach takes maybe 2 minutes.

When we arrived we were met by the owner and shown round the house, which is a good size for the six people who stayed there. All the bedrooms are of a large size and two large bathrooms also, one en-suite. The down stair toilet is perfect when you have younger children in the house. We put the grandparents in the top bedroom and they couldn't hear the young children when they were up during the night, perfect for them!!! The kitchen was fully equipped for the 2 week stay we had and had everything you needed including a dish washer. There is also a washing machine but no dryer. There was a clothes horse which we used outside. We did buy and leave some plastic dishes which we used for the young children just in case anything got broke.

The house was clean and all bedding was clean with the mattresses on the beds all of good quality and very comfortable. All rooms have TVs except the little single room.

Jodie left a few leaflets with place of interest in the area for us and the house had wi-fi and a secured parking space. We found this place as a perfect holiday home for people of all ages due to the location and the house just being perfect.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Absolutely perfect guest. Would not hesitate to have stay at Oyster Bed Cottage again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richandan...
worcester.england
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wedding weekend”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a great place .a town house with private parking only a few yards from the sea restaurant shop banks off licence This made are weekend
Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Superb guest. Wouldn't hesitate to have stay at Oyster Bed Cottage again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c00pster1
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay.”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Highly recommend Oyster Bed Cottage. Stayed with friends for one night celebrating a birthday. From the moment we arrived greeted by the owner Jodie it felt so homely and welcoming. Beautiful interior and spacious. Fully equipped kitchen and lovely bedrooms. So pleased we found this special place to stay...... Did not want to leave!
Hope to return one day soon in the future. Ideal location, close to the beach and High Street.
Great communication from Jodie. Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Impeccable guest. Always welcome to stay at Oyster Bed Cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C
Essex, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Long weekend break”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A great property, tastefully furnished with all homely touches and a fully equipped kitchen. Spacious bathrooms, large bedrooms with all home comforts. The property couldn't be located in a better place, just off the high street, centrally located to pubs, bistros and the coast behind. A very happy and enjoyable weekend had by 7 adults, a recommended stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole environment.
Liked least: No sun!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
Great guest. Would welcome back to Oyster Bed Cottage, anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing