We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese for 30 miles”
Review of Yantze

Yantze
Ranked #66 of 125 Restaurants in Whitstable
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Chinese for 30 miles”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

OK, we had a takeaway rather than dining in the restaurant, but it was Christmas Eve and there were 14 of us including visiting family from the USA who were absolutely craving a decent English Chinese experience.

The Yantze does all the classic starters, plus crispy lamb & lettuce and plus chilli soft shell crab.

By the end of Boxing Day everyone was overloaded with turkey & ham, so the leftover Chinese went down very well that night. Portions are great, and the Yangtze does a great mixture of English Chinese classics and more "Chinese Chinese" fair.

A great restaurant - we just wish they opened on Monday (today) because we want more!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brianlmerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    17
    4
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great entertainment an all round fun night out”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I went to Yantze with family and my boyfriend. It was a double birthday celebration. It was an ABBA tribute act night. You pay a deposit in advance for a set menu. The set menu is everyones favourites so only the pickiest of people would have a problem with it, plenty of non meat for the vegetarians. You get 3 courses, starters (mixed Hors d'oeuvres) then crispy duck with all the extras and finally you get 3-4 main dishes as well as rice, noodles and prawn crakcers. There is sooo much food no one will go hungry, we felt very wasteful but the found really is fantastic, one of our favourite chineses'. The entertainment starts when pretty much everyone has eaten as you have suggested times for arrival. It is always great, i have been twice now and last time was a Dolly Parton act, guaranteed to get almost everyone dancing (especially the silver foxes!) Must go, it's a great laugh, great food and great value.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielleButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best chinese takeaways i've tried”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had a takeaway from here when we stayed at a holiday rental close by. Cant quite remember what we ordered but was very impressed with the general quality of food. From what I saw, the inside looks nice as well

My only suggestion would be that they offer a discount for collections.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HertsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Fabulous food,freshly cooked. Excellent take away. Friendly staff. Best are the events evenings. We ve been to a few such as the abba and elvis tribute acts. Great fun. Set menu but still excellent quality and value. Book early though as very popular!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sjwhits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a delight!”
Reviewed 4 March 2011

This really was a top evening.
Went on a Saturday evening, didn't book but we got lucky. There were two of us which helped with getting a table as this place is popular. Seems geared towards parties as there were two birthdays, creating a good vibe but not to the point of having to shout!
Menu is an 'all you can eat'. This doesn't do it justice as there is variety and the food was of a very high standard. It is three savoury courses, priced between £10 - £20 pp, depending on time and day. You pick a starter which is a selection of small nibbles, an intermediate course with a choice of 3 dishes and then a full range of rices, noodles and dishes for your main course. Staff very helpful re what to order and portion sizes.
Service was exceptionally friendly, helpful and efficient. We also had enough time between courses to enjoy our food.
Recommend the calamari, singapore noodles and the crispy duck.
They also do a lot of live music with tribute acts and singers at weekends to create an extra party feel towards the later part of the evening.
Great price for the quality and quantity of the food. We will definitely be returning but will make sure we book to avoid disappointment. Have earmarked restaurant for a future birthday as well.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClixxyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yantze also viewed

Whitstable, Kent
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to Yantze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing