We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bromley Cross
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The room was clean but very dated we upgraded thought it was pricy for what it was. The meal we had was disappointing hard frozen veg and fatty meat. There was sick on the steps which no one cleaned for ages and also a dead mouse near one of the kitchens outside. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Jenine H

I am very alarmed to read your comments following your recent visit to us.

Could I please ask you to contact me directly at the hotel so I can take some more information from you and therefore investigate your comments.

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
01204 873 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    454
    308
    177
    126
See reviews for
362
506
50
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went for lunch to the tea room. Ordered potato cake with bacon and tomatoes. Was told a wait of 20 minutes. There were only 10 people in the place. After an hour, I asked where my meal was and was told it was next! Finally, one hour and ten minutes later I received it. By this time my pot of tea was cold. When I complained, I was refunded all monies. The meal was very underwhelming. The tomatoes which I expected to be warm were cold, just added at the last minute and the bacon was full of white bits. This sort of bacon is the cheapest you can buy. I spoke to the lady behind the counter and to the Manager who said she would speak to the chef. All in all over an hour of my life wasted. God knows how long I would have waited if it had been busy! Not an experience to be repeated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Kate1401

I am sorry to read your review of your recent visit to our tea room.

I can confirm that myself and our Head Chef have taken your comments on board
and corrective actions have been implemented.

Should you wish to discuss this any further please feel free to contact me on the details below.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
01204 873 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bromley Cross hotels

Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went here on a Mystery tour with a coach company. We were very apprehensive but pleasantly surprised. The hotel had plenty of history which was all documented in the welcome pack in the room. The room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. The room was on the ground floor but quite a trek from reception going through a cover way which could have been bad in wet windy weather. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and very helpful. There was a comfortable bar area to enjoy an after meal drink.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daved476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Dave D

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to us. It is a pleasure to hear how you enjoyed your visit and I hope we may welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
01204 873 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have now stayed at the Last Drop several times since I wrote my last review of it in February 2014, my latest stay being in May 2014. far from improving, this place has actually deteriorated even further! On the latest occasion:
1) On arrival, no record of me having been a guest here before, nor of my A-Club membership (again) despite having stayed on several occasions.
2) When I ordered drinks at the bar and asked for them to be charged to my room I was told there was no account open on my room, despite the booking being made by my business, and with the charges going back to them.
3) I sat down with colleagues to eat at our table, for which we had made a booking, at 8pm. Our starters arrived at 9pm and our main courses at 9:40pm
4) Despite the extended wait for our food, during which time we had finished our drinks and clearly had empty glasses in front of us, no-one asked if we would like to order any more until we eventually managed to flag a passing waiter down - despite all on duty that night seemingly trying to avoid any eye contact with us.
Following my last review, in which I also expressed my disappointment, I received a note from the Operations Manager to say that if I informed her of any future visit she would ensure better service. I didn't do this because I don't believe I should have to in order to receive even a reasonable level of customer service - and if it is necessary to do this, does that mean that all guests should do so?
Up to now this hotel has been on my company’s ‘preferred’ list for the area, something that probably now needs reviewing since I very much doubt if I will be staying there again.
If, after reading this, for some reason you still decide to stay there, then at least do yourself a favour and eat out in the evening!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Doug M

I am sorry to read your review of your recent experience with us, it is dissapointing to hear that on occasion we are still not delivering a high level of service.

I am at the hotel most days and can be contacted on the details below should you wish to discuss this any further with me.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
01204 873 500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Just come back from another great spa day. Really friendly staff on the spa reception, good facilities, love the hydrotherapy pool. Good treatments and the complimentary drinks are a great touch as well already planning our next girly trip here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dd2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Dd2345

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to us.

It is a pleasure to read your comments and our team will be equally pleased and encouraged by your review.

I look forward to us welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed midweek one night
Was unable to book any spa treatments even though the hotel appeared very quite
Room was clean but tired looking
Spa pool was shabby with titles missing
Food was poor when I complained was given excuses
Arrived at 9.35 for breakfast to be told breakfast had finished I was not informed of the finish time on arrival and no information displayed on timings. Staff reluctant to supply food but when I complained was given toast and pastries
Was not asked if I was happy with my stay on check out, I had to inform them of my issues

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Julie M

I am sorry to hear you were dissapointed with your recent stay with us.

I have followed up this review with my management team and my Front of House Manager was the lady who checked you out and has since sent you an e mail, whilst we do not wish to dispute your comments she is dismayed as she personally asked you for your feedback after she was made aware of the situation at breakfast.

I am aware she has personally followed this up again with an e mail however should you wish to discuss this any further I can be contacted at the hotel most days on the details below.

Kind Regards

Jayne Riley
Operations Manager
h6634-om@accor.com
01204 873 679
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for only one night unfortunately, it was our only night of decent sleep during a whistle stop visit to the homeland. Excellent value, we paid around £60 for a night in a king sized room, very clean and comfortable, recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckwasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6634_om, Operations Manager at Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Beckwasthere

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed some rest & relaxation with us and hope that should you be visiting the area again you will choose to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Jayne
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromley Cross
6.5 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
5.5 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
12.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
8.1 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa

Property: Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Address: Hospital Road, Bromley Cross, Bolton BL7 9PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Bromley Cross
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bromley Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel is a collection of 18th-century farmhouses with 128 rooms, located on the edge of the Pennine Moors. Ideal for visiting Haydock Racecourse, Chester Zoo or the nearby Ribble Valley. 25 min from Manchester city centre and close to major road networks. Self contained conference centre accommodating up to 700 delegates. Courtyard Restaurant, Courtyard bar, Tea Shop, and Spa Naturel including indoor pool, technogym, sauna and beauty rooms. 24 hour room service, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel Bolton
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel And Spa
Last Drop Village Bolton
Last Drop Hotel Bolton
Accor Last Drop Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing