We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portman Road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Portman Road”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Upon arrival there was a fracas in the car park which did not get us started very well, staff very pleasant, room clean and tidy, breakfast very good, so other than starting off badly we had a nice stay. the hotel was very busy.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel, noise from very busy road at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portmannroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for the review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We are unaware of any problem on the car park which is protected by CCTV . Guest security and safety is important and what ever the problem was the staff would have addressed it if you had brought it to their attention.
I do hope that this would not deter you frrom staying with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    188
    98
    28
    18
See reviews for
109
131
33
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed here before a recent Star Wars convention - as did all the actors which probably added to the experience!
Room was ideal size, very clean, great shower and great use of space.
Staff were friendly and helpful - Saw the same staff member at night and breakfast.
If you are travelling with children then bear in mind that there s no children's menu in the restaurant- staff split an adult portion between two children for us.
Very functional

Room Tip: Sofa bed in the room for children, make sure they sleep in it not you! Perfect for children, nit so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaGS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you very much for the review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 year old son. Checking in was quick,smooth and highly efficient. Chris the duty person was welcoming and worked his socks off to ensure each guest has a great stay.

Breakfast was okay for the price and accommodation type. Rooms and general hotel was clean with adequate attention from staff. Please be aware of location next to motorway before booking.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Our trip was for a sporting event in Blackburn. We decided to make it a two night weekend break.
We had recently stayed at the Preston South Holiday Inn Express, not far away, with which we were very impressed and which made us familiar with the standard for this part of the IHG chain.
We were equally impressed.

Location. Just off J10 of the M65, along a quiet no through road- you can see the hotel from the motorway. Not attached to a service station.
We could hear no motorway road nosie, although our room was on the north side.
This proved a great base for touring the vicinity- Pendle Hill, Haworth and Bronte Country, Hebden Bridge, as well as Blackburn for the footie.

Check in was simple and efficient.
I previously joined the Priority Club- free- which may make things easier.
Plenty of free parking spaces.
Our room was first floor facing north- views of Pendle Hill over the car park.
The room was spotless and has kettle and complementary tea/coffee.

The bathroom wa very compact with a triptych mirror (easier for shaving!) .
Shower cubicle- no bath. Controls easy to use.
Separate toilet inside bathroom with own door- not seen this before.

Air conditioning easy to work and worked fine.

The bed.
My wife could not get comfy and to be honest this was not convincing.
May just be our one.
Choice of soft and firm pillows good.

Complementary wi-fi in public area and in room.Also wired internet in room.
One of my yardsticks- I continue to rail against being charged for internet connection.

There is a desktop PC in reception- did not use this but I believe it is complementary. Not sure if it is linked to a printer (eg flight boarding cards).

Eating:
There are no restaurants within reasonable walking distance, so the choice is to drive out or use the hotel restaurant. We did this on the first night. Usual fairly basic menu but perfectly acceptable. Prices OK - order food from the bar whose prices also hotel rather than pub but again not outrageous.

Breakfast. Our rate was inclusive of Continental breakfast.
I saw previous comments about the range of breakfast available ie no bacon.
It was true that bacon did not appear to occupy the space provided on the hotplates. Strange, as it did at the HIE at Preston South, just a few miles back along the M65.
Anyway the Continental breakfast spread was fine, and the sausages which are provided make a good toasted sandwich!
There is plenty choice of food to ensure a good start, but HIE may wish to ensure that this discrepancy between locations is resolved, one way or the other!

I would recommend this Holiday Inn Express.
All of the staff are friendly and helpful, and make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: First and second floor rooms with odd numbers may have a view of Pendle Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I would stay at this hotel again. Good value for money within walking distance of the town centre. Room large and clean with good size shower room. Bed very comfortable.
Hot breakfast included offering scrambled egg, sausage and beans although no bacon.
Very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were very surprised by our stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Burnley. We have stayed in a few different places in Burnley but the next time we go it will be the Holiday Inn Express again for us. Great value for money. Food excellent (the only complaint being that they do not serve bacon for breakfast). Room large and clean. Beds comfy. The service top-notch and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I would stay at this hotel again great value for money, walking distance into the town on the straight mile. Very friendly helpful staff also hot breakfast included. Lovely decked area where you could enjoy your breakfast on a morning or a drink from the bar in the evenings. One thing I did think was great that the door into the bathroom also closed the toilet off from the shower and sink.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avrilwiltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for the review I am pleased you liked the hotel and we hope to see you again very soon
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
1.8 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Burnley
Travelodge Burnley
#6 of 6 in Burnley
135 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Burnley
328 reviews
7.9 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
260 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burnley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burnley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Address: 55 Pendle Way | just off the M65 J10, Burnley BB12 0TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burnley 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 J10 has 102 self contained modern bedrooms which all come equipped with direct dial phones, high speed internet access , 26' LCD TVs, Freeview, satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, air conditioning and power showers. The Holiday Inn Express Burnley has 4 up to date dedicated meeting rooms equipped with high-speed Internet access, tea & coffee facilities, LCD screens with direct data connection, natural daylight and air conditioning. At the Holiday Inn Express Burnley a complimentary Continental breakfast is included for all guests, a limited evening menu is available. Burnley s countryside is a living mosaic of woods, farmland and waterways with over four hundred kilometers of cycleways, bridleways and footpaths leading from the South Pennine Moors to the Calder and Ribble Valleys in the shadow of Pendle Hill.Please note: this is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burnley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Hotel Burnley
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing